The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More Frontpage issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bigdave, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. bigdave

    bigdave Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    "The server sent a response which FrontPage could not parse. If you are trying to connect to a Front Page server, check with the server's administrator to make sure the FrontPage server extensions are installed properly."


    I have run the uninstall and reinstall scripts with no luck, anyone else experience this before?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. MrHits

    MrHits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is only happening on one server for me, but for every account on the server. It has redhat 6.2 installed.


    "unexpected error occured in c:\Windows\Temp\wecerr.txt.
    server sent response - Frontpage cound not parse. Check servers administor to make sure Frontpage extensions are installed properly."



    Has anyone found a solution? I ran easy apache, then I ran the front page upgrade found on layer1. The error still occurs even after running both easyapache and fpupgrade installs.

    :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  4. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Front Page Client CAN'T Connect

    Attn: Nick & CPanel Gurus

    Front Page Authentication Problem

    Yesterday, Aug 27 after an Apache upgrade (of course including the front page options), Clients who publish with Front Page can no longer connect. They get the same error as listed by other member.

    Red Hat 6.2 Apache 1.3.28

    Httpd.conf now has mod_auth_passthrough which it never had before!

    Their Front page web forms still work, but they aparently can't authenticate themselves to publish.

    I have tried re-installing the FP extensions for individiual domains, I have ran the apache FP upgrade 5 .sea

    Apache rebuilt again a few times.
    Even tried force-installing the fp extensions rpm from cpanel updates url. Wouldn't install because of a permissions problem on fpexe. Can't change the permissions on that file. Even running as root, still can't chmod it.

    Am seeing no entrties in the suexec_log that reference the client authentication failure.

    Apache error_log shows this entry.

    [Thu Aug 28 08:44:44 2003] [crit] [client 65.200.170.20] configuration error: couldn't check user. No user file?: /_vti_bin/_vti_aut/author.exe

    I have tried with suexec turned on and turned off.
    I have even ran the initfpsuexec as outlined in other postings.
    Still no success.

    A solution or work-around would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Drake P

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #4 Drake, Aug 28, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2003
  5. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    What version of cpanel are you running. Alot of us who were running the latest stable for Freebsd had similiar problems but when we went to EDGE (yes I dont like it either) it cleared up the FP issues (so far anyway).

    If you are running redhat you may be in the same boat so ask around first but you might need to go to EDGE to fix this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This box previously had Edge.

    but it is now 7.4.2-RELEASE_116

    I will attempt to switch back up to EDGE and see what happens.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    SUCCESS.

    Hey thanks.
    That was a great suggestion, because it worked!

    Who'd have ever thought that switching between RELEASE and EDGE would have cured the problem.

    A person would presume that all the back-end infrastructure of the FP Extensions wouldn't be altered by the Version/Type of WHM.

    If anything, you'd think that EDGE would cause more problems, but not in this case.


    Drake P

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page