The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More Pure-FTPD timeouts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crashish, May 18, 2006.

  1. crashish

    crashish Registered

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK, I have scanned the boards here and various other places and have not been able to find anything truly helpful.

    The idle timeout is set sufficiently long and doesnt seem to actually be the problem. In addition, all the relevant ftp ports, both active and passive are open in iptables.

    Here is a brief log of what's occurring:

    Code:
    [16:00:00] [R] Connected to hostname
    [16:00:00] [R] 220---------- Welcome to Pure-FTPd [TLS] ----------
    ... snip snip ...
    [16:00:01] [R] PWD
    [16:00:01] [R] 257 "/" is your current location
    [16:00:01] [R] TYPE I
    [16:00:01] [R] 200 TYPE is now 8-bit binary
    [16:00:01] [R] PASV
    [16:00:01] [R] 227 Entering Passive Mode (xx,xx,xx,xx,21,68)
    [16:00:01] [R] Opening data connection IP: xx.xx.xx.xx PORT: 5444
    [16:00:01] [R] REST 8203648
    [16:00:01] [R] 350 Restarting at 8203648
    [16:00:01] [R] STOR 6.0-RELEASE-ia64-bootonly.iso
    [16:00:04] [R] 150 Accepted data connection
    [16:00:47] [R] 421 Timeout (no new data for 900 seconds)
    [16:00:47] [R] Connection lost: hostname
    [16:00:48] [R] Transfer Failed!
    Clearly this is not 900 seconds.

    Ports 3000-6000 are reserved for passive transfers in pure-ftpd.conf and, as I mentioned, are open in iptables.

    The weirdest thing about this, though, is that it seems to only affect FlashFXP. I have heard from other users that CuteFTP works without a hitch.

    If anyone can offer any suggestions, my clients and I would greatly appreciate it.
     
  2. tarmo

    tarmo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    one of our customer who is using FlashFXP has the same problem. With wsftp everything is OK.


    Tarmo
     
  3. tarmo

    tarmo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Under options you need to go to Transfer and uncheck "Stop und resume if no data transferred" then it will work without no problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page