The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More than 1 email address per contact in Horde

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Christian-B, Aug 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why can i only have 1 email per contact in Horde?

    I need to have 2 per contact
     
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is irritating, and creates issues trying to sync with other mail applications and devices.

    You might like to look at the roundcube address book that allows you to add as many email addresses as you want for each contact.
     
  3. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need the sync part, found some other CalDAV/CardDAV i'm gonna test.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The following lines exist in the /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/backends.php file:

    Code:
            'email' => 'object_email',
           // 'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail',
           // 'workEmail' => 'object_workemail',
    You can enable the additional lines for "home email" and "work email" so that those lines look like this:

    Code:
            'email' => 'object_email',
            'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail',
            'workEmail' => 'object_workemail',
    Upon making this change, you can then add three separate email addresses when setting up contacts in Horde. Can you verify if that helps to address the issue? If so, you will need to setup a custom script that runs after each cPanel update to edit those lines, similar to how it's done on the comment from the following feature request:

    Add a Tweak Setting when choosing Horde to turn HTML inline on or off

    Thank you.
     
  5. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cPanelMichael

    Thats works thanks!

    Not sure how to add that tweak.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Here's another post that provides a general guide to setting up a post upcp hook to ensure the changes are preserved through cPanel updates:

    HELO name problem on roundcube

    Thank you.
     
  7. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does this looks correct:
    Code:
    replace "// 'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail'," "'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail'," -- /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/backends.php
    replace "// 'workEmail' => 'object_workemail'," "'workEmail' => 'object_workemail'," -- /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/backends.php
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, those entries look correct. I ran them as bash commands manually on a test system and they correctly updated the necessary lines.

    Thank you.
     
  9. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You're welcome! I also encourage you to open a feature request for the inclusion of three email address fields by default when setting up contacts in Horde:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page