Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

More than 1 email address per contact in Horde

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Christian-B, Aug 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why can i only have 1 email per contact in Horde?

    I need to have 2 per contact
     
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is irritating, and creates issues trying to sync with other mail applications and devices.

    You might like to look at the roundcube address book that allows you to add as many email addresses as you want for each contact.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need the sync part, found some other CalDAV/CardDAV i'm gonna test.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    The following lines exist in the /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/backends.php file:

    Code:
            'email' => 'object_email',
           // 'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail',
           // 'workEmail' => 'object_workemail',
    You can enable the additional lines for "home email" and "work email" so that those lines look like this:

    Code:
            'email' => 'object_email',
            'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail',
            'workEmail' => 'object_workemail',
    Upon making this change, you can then add three separate email addresses when setting up contacts in Horde. Can you verify if that helps to address the issue? If so, you will need to setup a custom script that runs after each cPanel update to edit those lines, similar to how it's done on the comment from the following feature request:

    Add a Tweak Setting when choosing Horde to turn HTML inline on or off

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cPanelMichael

    Thats works thanks!

    Not sure how to add that tweak.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Here's another post that provides a general guide to setting up a post upcp hook to ensure the changes are preserved through cPanel updates:

    HELO name problem on roundcube

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does this looks correct:
    Code:
    replace "// 'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail'," "'homeEmail' => 'object_homeemail'," -- /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/backends.php
    replace "// 'workEmail' => 'object_workemail'," "'workEmail' => 'object_workemail'," -- /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/backends.php
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Yes, those entries look correct. I ran them as bash commands manually on a test system and they correctly updated the necessary lines.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Christian-B

    Christian-B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're welcome! I also encourage you to open a feature request for the inclusion of three email address fields by default when setting up contacts in Horde:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice