The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Move accounts between Cpanel Servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maquinadigital, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. maquinadigital

    maquinadigital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,
    first of all, I'm not sure if this is the best place to post this issue. This is a migration but between Cpanel Servers.

    after reading a log of posts, I'm still trying to get the best way to migrate all the accounts from one server to another having this in consideration:

    - it's a server upgrade - the new server is a cpanel server with a different CentOS version
    - I want the new server to have the same IP as the old server after the update. Of course, that the old server won't have the same IP after the update.
    - I accept that, for a few hours, the service will be down.
    - I have full access (even hardware) to the servers
    - Very important: Several accounts have custom DNS records pointing to other servers, that can't be updated (I've had a huge problem with this in another of these migrations and this is probably the top reason to post this help request)

    Some time ago, I've made a full migration as this but, having several custom dns records, those got changed.

    I've change the IP from the NEW server to the production IP, the production server got a temporary license from Cpanel and then I used the migration tool from WHM to do the job.
    This was about 3 to 4 years ago. Since then, I've already moved to new servers but using the VM image. Now I really need the upgrade to CentOS 6 as I'm still using CentOS 5 and I need dedicated IP to SSL certificates.

    Now WHM has some extra features to move accounts and I'd like your insight and experience to have the best and fastest way to do a full server migration.

    Then, I'll write a good post on how this went.

    Best regards
    Daniel
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You should first backup the DNS Zones on the source server. EX:

    cp -a /var/named /var/named-backup

    Then, you can proceed to install and configure cPanel on the destination server. I recommend using a temporary IP address on the destination server until the migration is finished. You can transfer the actual accounts via the "Copy Multiple Accounts/Packages From Another Server" option in WHM. After the transfer, review the DNS Zones on the destination server to ensure your custom records were copied over successfully. Then, modify the network scripts on the destination server so the correct IP address is utilized, update the cPanel license, and update the accounts to this IP address via:

    "WHM Home » IP Functions » IP Migration Wizard"

    Since your name servers and IP addresses are going to remain the same, you can always manually copy over the DNS Zones that you backed up on the source server.

    Thank you.
     
  3. maquinadigital

    maquinadigital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    thank you for your fast reply.

    I was thinking in doing the other way.

    First change the production server to another IP and have the new server changed with the productive IP address.
    That way, during migration, the accounts would become available as migrated.

    Also, during migration, no emails would be delivered to the "old" server, or no changes to the MySQL(websites) would be made, without being migrated.
    Yes, I can deactivate everything on the "old" server but I wouldn't get the accounts activated sooner.

    When I migrate an account, WHM changes all IP addresses? Or it just changes the IP addresses that match the origin server, leaving custom dns entries unchanged?

    In either case, the /var/named backup seems perfect.


    I'm very sorry but I reminded another "detail".
    I'm thinking about having a mysql dedicated server, that I currently don't have.

    When I migrate an account from a server with local mysql to a server with remote mysql, will WHM be smart to recreate the DB on the remote server? Do I have to take any detail into consideration?

    Most websites will try to use localhost so, I read about using iptables to redirect local mysql port to another server.
    I think that could solve the issue. But, without that, will WHM restore the DB properly?

    Best regards
    Daniel
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is a viable alternative and it's acceptable to use this method.

    Custom DNS entries should be transferred without modification.

    You should complete the transfer as you normally would, and then configure the remote MySQL server via:

    "WHM Home » SQL Services » Setup Remote MySQL Server"

    Thank you.
     
  5. maquinadigital

    maquinadigital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thank you once more for the fast reply.

    Configuring the remote MySQL Server after the migration won't migrate the DBs to the new server right?
    I'll have to migrate the DBs manually, is that right?

    Thank you
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is correct. If the source server utilizes a remote server for MySQL, you will have to manually transfer those databases if you want those databases hosted on the destination server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page