The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Move Addon domain to Full Account on Different Hosting

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by member11, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. member11

    member11 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've searched this and just want to be clear before I make any moves.

    I have an addon domain which I want to give its own full cpanel account with a new host.

    The addon has static html pages along with a wordpress install in a subfolder.

    Are there any special instructions required to migrate across apart from:
    - running a full backup (files and database)
    - create new account at new hosting
    - restoring backup on the new hosting
    - changing dns at the domain registrar

    I don't need to save any email settings, so many of the issues I've read on this topic dont apply there.

    If there is something I've missed then please let me know.

    thanks for any help in advance.
    Paul
     
  2. member11

    member11 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    just bumping this. hoping someone can set me straight.
    cheers
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I wouldn't restore a Full Backup, you're going to get the main domain and the addon domain restored.

    If it's just a matter of this directory/the addon domain, you can compress that directory using the File Manager (or via command line of course) and backup that single database and restore just that to the new account.

    After you have created the new account, upload the compressed directory and unpack via File Manager. Depending on how you compressed it, move it to public_html and then restore the database.
     
  4. member11

    member11 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks InfoPro.

    In the database I've discovered that there is still references to the original path from addon domain at shared hosting:

    /home/sharedhostfolder/public_html/addondomainfolder

    As this old path is no longer applicable, do I need to replace all instances in the database before importing it to the new account, or is there another way?

    i.e. path on new account:
    /home/domainfolder/public_html

    thanks for your help.
    Paul
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    What exactly are these references? If it's settings for the wordpress site (assuming it is) you can edit those few links via phpMyAdmin easy enough once the DB is restored. If you're speaking of links posted to articles on the wordpress site that's a whole other ballgame.

    Either way, restoring the database won't be bothered by the DB's contents. The wordpress site might not work until you've edited the settings table to change the URLs for the DB and site connect appropriately.

    Only guessing though without knowing more about the references you speak of.
     
Loading...

Share This Page