The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

move /backup folder to new location

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by pepperfield, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. pepperfield

    pepperfield Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    my web server has a small root partition of only 20GB which gets filled up immediately by the cpanel backups.

    The /backup folder gets placed on this small root partition (/dev/root) by default. I would like to move it to another partition. What are the proper commands to move the /backup folder to another location? Does it need to be simlinked to it's new location or can the file path simply be changed in the backup configuration?


    thank you!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You really shouldn't be backing up to the same HDD.
     
  3. pepperfield

    pepperfield Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    remote backups by ftp are also enabled.

    the backup process (and the server) will cease to function if there is zero space left on the root partition during the backup procedure. How do I move the backup folder to a new partition please?

    thank you
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can move your /backup folder to other partition using the mv command and then change the backup configuration through your WHM but I will suggest you add new DISK on your server for the backup and configure your all accounts backup on that new DISK
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can browse to:

    "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration"

    You can modify the value of "Default Backup Directory" to the directory of your choice.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page