The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Move site

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by popeye, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I want to move a site from one server to another one in the same cluster,

    But need to know the best way without changing any custom DNS A records that i have.

    Anyone know the best way please.
     
  2. robb3369

    robb3369 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This covers transfers:
    Transfers

    The DNS records will more with no issue, but remember that the IP address will more than likely have to change since its going onto another server with its own IP addresses. Your DC might be able to move it.
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel told me it would change I.P on all the A records to match the new server, but i have custom ones for name servers and stuff.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if the custom name servers are in your DNS cluster they will remain the same and they will still work as they always did
     
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No i meant the account i am moving as custom A records for name servers and A records that point to other servers.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The custom entries should migrate to the new server during the transfer. However, you can make a backup of the DNS Zone before initiating the transfer with a command such as:

    Code:
    cp -a /var/named/domain.com.db /root/domain.com.db
    Then, transfer the account, and review the backed up zone to see which records were not copied over during the transfer. You can then review the old zone as a reference when manually editing the new DNS zone.

    Thank you.
     
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    So where you have put domain.com i put the actually domain ? also where will it back the file up to.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Right, you would replace "domain.com" in the example with the actual domain name (ensure you include the .db suffix). The example command I provided backs up the zone to "/root/domain.com.db".

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page