The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

moved a domain between two users accounts

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by fly_in_the_sky, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I have a big problem.

    I install it on my server at Gandi , my old backup of my old server at Mavenhosting (destroyed by pirates ) .

    On the old server, I had jeuxcooperatifs.com and Addon Domains (casse-noisettes.be ) main field.

    When I put the backup on the new server , I associate the dns casse-noisettes.be to my new server. My problem is that I do not have any more the domain euxcooperatifs. I want to detach addon domains casse-noisettes and put it as the main user.
    How can I do it?


    Another thing, I tried to access the ftps as root , but I get this error as :

    Status: Connecting to 92.243.19.74 ...
    Answer: fzSftp started
    Command : open " root@92.243.19.74 " 22
    Order : Approval of the new host key : Once
    Command: Pass: ********
    Error: Authentication failed .
    Error: Critical Error
    Error: Unable to connect to server

    I tried with several configuration : ip , domain, server.domain.be
    always the same errors



    Sorry for my bad english....
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your hosting provider will need to help you with this. There is nothing you can do as a Web site owner to make the changes to the main domain and addon domains that you want.

    FTP root access is disabled by default on a cPanel server. You will need to log into cPanel using your cPanel account's username and password.
     
  3. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, im the owner of my new server.I have ssh root acces , root acces WHM....
    Just is my first server, and i don't now many...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok tanks i will try
     
  6. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I readthe post, but if i do that , i dont will lose all the data of my domaine ?


    I don(t think that my situation is the seem, because wenn i try that , is only the domain name mooving, but not all the data. the data stay in jeuxcooperatifs.casse-noisettes ....
     
    #6 fly_in_the_sky, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  7. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You set your access level in your forum profile as "Website Owner" instead of "Root Administrator." That is why I replied to you as if you did not have root access. Please edit your forum profile and change your access level. It will help a lot to eliminate confusion if you do that.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Data is not lost using that method. However, backing up your account before making any changes is recommended.

    Thank you.
     
  9. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I understand, i change it... :)
    But what about my problem ???
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can always simply move your data directly to the public_html directory via FTP or File Manager after changing the domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  11. fly_in_the_sky

    fly_in_the_sky Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pyrénnée, France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes good idea, i will trye that, it look more simple...
    Just because, i want to learn somethink, how i can go in ftps with te root ?

     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should not access FTP as the "root" username. Instead, use the account username and password to avoid file ownership issues. If you need access via "root" to system level files, please use SSH.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page