The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

moves ssl cert from windows

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rickoneil, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. rickoneil

    rickoneil Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    and doesn't seem to work:
    did this:

    Run mmc.exe
    Click the 'Console' menu and then click 'Add/Remove Snap-in'.
    Click the 'Add' button and then choose the 'certificates' snap-in and click on 'Add'.
    Select 'Computer Account' then click 'Next'.
    Select 'Local Computer' and then click 'OK'.
    Click 'Close' and then click 'OK'.
    Expand the menu for 'Certificates' and click on the 'Personal' folder.
    Right click on the certificate that you want to export and select 'All tasks' -> 'Export'.
    A wizard will appear. Make sure you check the box to include the private key and continue through with this wizard until you have a .PFX file.
    Next run openssl to extract the private key, and the cert file. # Export the private key file from the pfx file
    openssl pkcs12 -in filename.pfx -nocerts -out key.pem
    # Export the certificate file from the pfx file
    openssl pkcs12 -in filename.pfx -clcerts -nokeys -out cert.pem
    # This removes the passphrase from the private key so Apache won't
    # prompt you for your passphase when it starts
    openssl rsa -in key.pem -out server.key

    so the url https://site.com doesnt work,

    anyone know how to fix this or just remoce the cert and try again (or buy another one)

    thanks

    rick
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just want to make sure: after you converted that certificate, did you apply those certificate and key files to that domain?

    You can do this via WHM -> SSL/TLS -> Install a SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain.
     
  3. rickoneil

    rickoneil Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    after i imported it i didnt see it in the 'Install a SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain' area

    now i think i screwed up because i generated a new set and thats seems to be what it sees now....

    how can i clear both and start over, and what are the steps in WHM to accomplish the clearing of the failed import and the unneeded new set that i did.

    is there a procedure to import the cert different from my posted method, or will the posted method work and what can i do to get it installed properly...
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In WHM, you can simply overwrite the old crt and key with the new data for the crt and key.

    Unfortunately, I am not familiar with the procedures for migrating a certificate from IIS to Apache/*nix.
     
  5. rickoneil

    rickoneil Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok, i have the cert from SBS and exactly what is the key?
     
Loading...

Share This Page