The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving account to a different IP, big error, help please!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Luciel, May 3, 2006.

  1. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok so i have the ip range of

    66.111.60.120 to 66.111.60.129

    i had 2 sites in the shared ip 66.111.60.121 amongst other, so i moved one to 66.111.60.128 which moved and works fine (all this using the change site ip option) and then i moved another to 66.111.60.129 and now the account of that site (cd2dvd) doesn't show anywhere anymore except on resellers and it shows it as if it doesn't have any domain attached to it yet if i go to show ip address use the domain appears in 66.111.60.129 and if i go to that ip addie the website does appear but if i go to the website www.cd-2-dvd.com, another website which is on the shared ip that cd-2-dvd.com used to be comes up, what can i do!?
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    As far as I got you, it seems that an ip is not properly assigned for one of your domain and its coming up with a wrong domain.
    Check VirtualHost entry for both the domains, the one which is coming up now and the one you wish to assign for the IP 66.111.60.129 in httpd.conf file at /usr/local/apache/conf/.

    Also please post your issue clearly. It is very difficult to understand your issue as you have mentioned it in one sentence.
     
  3. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, thing is, i've gotten home and www.cd-2-dvd.com does point to the right site now, i don't get that

    however, going to www.cd-2-dvd.com/cpanel and i get all sorts of error messages related to the dns, it's as if the domain name and all site files moved to 66.111.60.129 but the actual CPANEL user stayed back in 66.111.60.121

    Also, when i go to www.cd-2-dvd.com/cpanel or 66.111.60.129/cpanel it comes up with "yourdomain.com" at the top instead of the propper domain name.

    And i cant change the site back to 66.111.60.121 because it simply doesn't appear in WHM on anything except resellers.
     
  4. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok so it was obviously a question of ISP dns update that cd-2-dvd.com pointed to the right site, i've managed that it doesn't point to anything for now until i get this fixed.

    On the other matter, any help?
     
  5. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    anyone please?
     
  6. jacks

    jacks Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i had the same problem in the past few months. i have no idea what they did, but www.servertune.com fixed it for me.
     
  7. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It takes a while for the DNS changes to propagate. With cpanel, when you change the IP address of a site, the website will only appear to have a domain attached if you go to it at the new IP. Attempts to access it on the old IP will go to a page saying "no website configured at this address".

    To make it work on both the old and new IP addresses, edit the /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf file so that the VirtualHost line for the domain in question contains both IP addresses, ie
    <VirtualHost 10.20.30.40 10.20.30.50>
     
  8. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    that's not the problem brianoz, please read the original post.
     
  9. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I stand corrected, looks like you had/have some corruption in the cpanel files, although one of your problems did sound like an IP migration issue (ie: worked at home but not at work). However your original post was very hard to understand, may be worth making a mental note that clear questions get clear answers!

    Cheers :D
     
  10. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yeah sorry i realise my repply might have sounded a bit rude but that was not my intention : ) in any case, the site works now but the user is still not displayed in the WHM and if i go to this site's CPANEL, it's all screwed up, it's as if the site had moved to the new ip, but not the USER itself if that makes sense?
     
  11. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well ... and this is only a guess, but it sounds like one of the cpanel files is scrambled. You might want to check out /var/cpanel/users/username where username is the user name for the account with the problem.
     
  12. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i guess i might have to get a server admin to fix it and pay the hour rate as my knowledge is limited to the gui side of things, meaning if it gets deep like this i'm a bit useless, do you know anyone cheap? my budget isn't exactly great.
     
  13. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    so does anyone know someone who fixes/installs WHM/CPanel for a fee (or free not that i wouldn't mind :P)
     
  14. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  15. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cheers! they seem to have good pricing, i'll give them a try : )
     
  16. Luciel

    Luciel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok apparently they where to busy at the moment so i need someone else, any other suggestions?
     
Loading...

Share This Page