The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving an addon domain to it's own account - novice!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MPSc, Jan 26, 2011.

1. MPSc

MPSc Member

Hi Everyone - this is my first post.

I am a web designer (with the emphasis on designer!) I have recently purchased reseller hosting and I am now hosting my own site plus 6 others for clients.

I am not sure if I am operating cPanel correctly so I may need some help.

Up to now I have added each clients domain as an addon domain and I think maybe I should have created a new account for each? This would give me greater control over each account and also enable me to give cPanel access to my clients if they needed it?

What I need to know is how do I create new accounts from addon domains. I have read a couple of threads on this but I am still unsure of the procedure.

Can I set up a new cPanel account first (with email addresses and forwarders etc.) and then just transfer files etc. or is there a better way of doing things?

None of the sites have databases and are mainly static HTML pages. All site are backed up locally so file transfer/re-upload isn't a problem. There are no wordpress or any other installations yet so re-doing FTP uploads would be no problem.

I am a new user of cPanel and although I can see it's potential for me, I am treading carefully at the moment.

Many thanks for your help

2. LinuxTechie

LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

Steps to create an account through WHM.

Note : Before you create an account on the server, you should create a “package”. A “package” determines how much web space, bandwidth, mailboxes etc, your client can use. You will usually offer your customers a choice of several different packages to choose from.

How to create a package?