The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving DB

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FeeReD, Apr 28, 2006.

  1. FeeReD

    FeeReD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Alright, I was wondering how I would go about moving a MySQL database to another user.
     
  2. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    grant the appropriate privileges to the other user and delete or revoke the current user assigned to the database if the current user no longer access to the database in question.

    Mickalo
     
  3. FeeReD

    FeeReD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How would I go about changing privileges for the users?
     
  4. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
  5. FeeReD

    FeeReD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That basically explains the structure of MySQL and how it works. I didn't see anything about moving the database to a whole new account.
     
  6. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa

    it explains how to setup your user privileges. the actual database is just a directory within the /var/lib/mysql folder. If you want to move the entire database to a different location, this involve reconfiguring MySQL. from your post, you said you wanted to assign a new user to this database. So assigning the new user the appropriate privileges to this database, would allow them access to it.

    Mickalo
     
  7. FeeReD

    FeeReD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My bad, that I did. I ment a whole new linux account.

    I'll see what I can do, thanks :)
     
  8. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    you could use the mysqldump utility to dump the database then set it up to the new location.

    Mickalo
     
Loading...

Share This Page