The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving from cpanel server to a new cpanel server DNS change?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ASTRAPI, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    I am using own nameservers as ns1.myadomain.com and ns2 on a cpanel server.

    Now i move to another cpanel server and i have the same ns1 and ns2 and i edit them to the correct new ip's but i am still getting by ping the old ip's for ns1 and ns2 :(

    What can i do for it?

    Thanks
     
  2. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So bad results after moving to a new cpanel server :(

    - Removed -
     
    #2 ASTRAPI, Jul 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2014
  3. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok i fix it....
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Anytime you make a DNS change, there will be a delay while the changes propagate. In the case of changing nameserver IP addresses, the change can take days, because the change must propagate through the root nameservers. If you make a DNS change and you still see the old IP address being used, simply wait. It can take 72 hours or more to see the new IP address being used.

    Also, different locations around the world may get the new IP address at different times. Unfortunately, that is just the way the Internet DNS system works, and there is no way to eliminate all propagation delay.
     
Loading...

Share This Page