The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving from Plesk 8.4 to CPanel

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by Rocko, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. Rocko

    Rocko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am thinking to move from Plesk 8.4 to CPanel and I have some doubts about it:

    1. I wonder if CPanel can manage subdomains as domains with separate bandwidth consumption/visitors, giving access to the domain owner access only to them. ie.

    I have domain.com then I create subdomain.domain.com, the domain owner of subdomain.domain.com would be able to enter the control panel and see all the statistics of it, without getting access to domain.com resources.

    To do this, I wonder if it is possible to hide all the cpanels menus but the logs.

    2. Is there a tool to accurately move the accounts from Plesk 8.4 to CPanel?
    Last year I tried to make it but the available tool on that occasion did not work.

    3. In case there is no such tool, How can I move the AWStats historic reports? There are no logs.

    4. The same that 3 but with Horde data for each e-mail account (Contacts list, customisation, etc.)

    I hope to hear notices from you soon.

    Kind Regards,

    Rocko
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can give subdomains their own cPanel accounts. However, in the process, you will be making that account completely separate from the cPanel account for the domain. cPanel does not support the specific functionality you desire at this time. Additionally, we do not support sub-users and you do need to login to the cPanel interface to view stats at this time.


    This tool is continually being improved. Plesk 8.4 for Linux is a relatively new product so I cannot guarantee everything will work flawlessly. However, as this script has been undergoing extensive use recently, this has resulted in a much more robust script today than you may have experienced a year ago.

    In any case, we still offer our free Transfer Assistance Hotline should you need assistance with any loose ends migrating from Plesk to cPanel/WHM. You can learn more about this at:

    http://www.cpanel.net/products/cpwhm/cpanel11/transfer-asst.htm

    The historical data for stats apps is stored in ~/tmp where ~ is that cPanel user's home directory. For example, AWStats data would be in ~/tmp/awstats

    Individual webmail users can login to Horde through the webmail interface. This can be accessed via example.com/webmail where example.com is the website's domain.
     
  3. Rocko

    Rocko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    David,

    Thank you for the fast answer, here are some doubts that got after reading them:

    I am not clear if it is possible to do what I need with the subdomain separate of the main domain (In fact, this is how Plesk works) or it is not possible at all.

    What I wanted to say is that I need to transfer the data of each e-mail account stored in Horde, specially the contact list.

    Kind Regards,

    Rocko
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel/WHM can handle subdomains in 2 ways:

    1. As part of the account for the domain.
    2. As a completely separate account from the main domain

    If for some reason, this information is not automatically transferred, our technical analysts can assist with the migration of this.
     
  5. Rocko

    Rocko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    David,

    How much can the interface be customised for giving access only to the Logs menu? I mean, the owner of the subdomain (Type 2 according to your last comment) would enter to the control panel to see only the logs menu and a reduced list of information from left column.

    Thanks,

    Rocko
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just wanted to test this myself before I replied. I was able to disable every icon in the cPanel interface, so you will be able to grant access to only the log features you wish to grant while disabling all other cPanel functionality.

    As for the left menu displaying server OS, used quota etc. that can be customized easily with custom branding.
     
  7. Rocko

    Rocko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you remove the menu titles too (Security, Databases, etc.) or they stay with no icons below them?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, I apologize if that was not implied in my statement.
     
  9. Rocko

    Rocko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    David,

    Thank you.

    Your comments were very useful.
     
  10. Rocko

    Rocko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    David,

    I have my CPanel now.

    Who shall I contact to get some help with the transfer?

    I am going to use ASSP Deluxe for cPanel. Do you suggest to install it after or before transfering the accounst?
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel welcome to contact us directly for transfer assistance:

    http://www.cpanel.net/products/cpwhm/cpanel11/transfer-asst.htm

    I recommend you install third party software such as ASSP Deluxe after you are satisfied the migration process has been successful.
     
    mambovince likes this.
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend submitting a ticket and/or making use of our transfer assistance hotline for assistance with this issue:

    http://www.cpanel.net/products/cpwhm/cpanel11/transfer-asst.htm
     
  13. rmackay

    rmackay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I have noticed a problem when transferring from plesk 8.0.1 where each domain I transfer grabs the mailboxes and messages from EVERY OTHER domain on the plesk server, resulting in very long transfer times and a lot of manual cleanup needing to be done on the cpanel server.

    Is this new? I did not see this when transferring from plesk 7.5 to cpanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page