Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

moving /home then back

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by morteza3245, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. morteza3245

    morteza3245 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello
    i mounted a device on /home, now that device is slow and i want get backup from all files then replace that device , then back data to new device

    now i want ask, this will not cause me issue?
    how i can again set permission? there is script for set permission automatically?

    please help me.

    thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It should be as easy as: Add another drive and mount it as /home2. Use the rearrange accounts feature in WHM to move accounts off of /home to /home2.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. morteza3245

    morteza3245 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    its not possible, i should compress all home and then get backup of it, then terminate HDD, then add new HDD, then download backup in new home device, then extract it.
    it will not face me issue?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    If you have free space on your server then you can compress your data and extract it on your HDD. But first check you have sufficient free space on your server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    This isn't a supported method of backing up the accounts because additional account data is stored outside of the /home directory. You'd want to generate backup for each account with the /scripts/pkgacct script, or by configuring backups via "WHM >> Backup Configuration" and forcing a backup generation via the "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force" command.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice