The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving Hosting to cPanel DNS Question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Matthew Wakeford, Aug 7, 2017.

1. Matthew Wakeford

Matthew Wakeford Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hey I'm new here, having a bit of trouble with my project. I'm trying to move just the host of my website to a WHM/cPanel VPS, all gone well afaik, but it's not picking up any test pages I try.

I found this thread which is exactly what I want to do Host a website for a domain hosted somewhere else? but so far no luck.

Any advice would be great as I am new to WHM/cPanel, I've come from shared hosting so am taking steps into a VPS and cPanel. I was told it would be a whole new host of options compared to shared hosting control panels, and wow, but once I get your head round things, I'm hoping it is and it's just me starting slow, so I am looking forward to learning more once I get this up and running.

So far I have done the following;

Got my self a shiny new VPS subscription all ready to go with WHM and cPanel installed.

For simple testing, I have created an A record of "installer"at the current hosting providers DNS pointing at the VPS IP address.
    Waited a while and I can now ping the A record "installer.domain.co.uk" and is showing the server IP now.

I have created an account in WHM with the domain name I want to use, with the Nameservers pointing at the current hosting provider's DNS.

In Nameserver selection under Service Selection I have selected disabled.

In Nameserver Record Report under DNS Functions I have both the listed Nameservers of my current hosting provider.

I logged into cpanel from List accounts and loaded file manager.
    Uploaded a test index.html file to the public_html