The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving Location & Need Help / Advice

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mobboss, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. mobboss

    mobboss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    A brief rundown on whats happening. My location where my business is being sold and I need to move my server (whm/cpanel). At the same time I need to serve websites during the move.

    What is the cleanest way to get people and all the emails off of my server to another reseller account or another host without calling or emailing them all to update nameservers?

    Any advice I thank you for in advance because this has been my only stress for the last couple weeks.

    23-25 accounts and 60% have emails.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are the domain names using name servers associated with a domain name you have control over? If so, you can update the name server IP addresses for those name servers at the domain registrar to IP addresses associated with the new server after the transfer completes.

    Thank you.
     
  3. mobboss

    mobboss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have set up cpanel on the amazon ec2 following a couple guides I have found. Do I need the VPS or Dedicated license for that.

    I do have control over the domain in my Godaddy account. currently I set up a host and 2 nameservers using the same domain I have set up for my old server pointing to my ip's on Amazon. I am also running the transfer tool on the new install to move the files over.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit all license questions to our customer service department by opening a support ticket or by emailing cs [@] cpanel.net.

    Right, but for instance, do all of the domain names you host use these name servers?

    Thank you.
     
  5. mobboss

    mobboss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes they all use the same nameservers
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, then updating the name server IP addresses at the domain registrar, and updating the "A" records on the cPanel server, are the proper steps needed to point the domain names to the new server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page