The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

moving logs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostcp3, Feb 13, 2003.

  1. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I attempted to move some logs today on one of our servers, could someone look at the process I used and tell me where I am wrong, the mv went ok, but when rebooting apache it failed and no websites could be found, the only way we got them back online was to mv the logs back.


    stop procceses

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/chkservd stop
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd stop

    make dir in backup

    mkdir /backup/usr/

    move the files over:

    mv /usr/local/apache/domlogs /backup/usr/
    mv /usr/local/apache/logs /backup/usr/


    cd /usr/local/apache/

    make symbolic links.

    ln –s /backup/usr/domlogs/ domlogs
    ln –s /backup/usr/logs/ logs

    start up again.

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/chkservd start
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Is your backup directory mounted? Backups are usually unmounted between backups, but have to stay mounted when used for logs.
     
  3. hormigo

    hormigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    our backup directory is always mounted
     
  4. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    squirrel

    thankyou, the drive we use for backup was indeed unmounted, ok thankyou very much for your time to answer and your help.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    No problem. That's why when I had a backup drive added to my server, I had it split into 2 partitions. One for logs and a seperate one for backups so they can be unmounted.
     
Loading...

Share This Page