The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving one cPanel account as addon domain of another cPanel account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wimbledon, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. Wimbledon

    Wimbledon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hello,

    I am trying to move a website from one cPanel hosting account to my main cPanel hosting account.

    What is the best way to transfer the domain and the necessary files (its Wordpress installation, etc) to my main cPanel hosting account as an addon domain?

    I contacted my host and they told me to do this through FTP, but I don't understand what they mean exactly. In cPanel, Should I select all, then compress as a zip file, and upload onto my main hosting account? Is there a better way?

    I want to be smart and make sure I am doing this correctly!

    Thank you,

    Taylor
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    To move your add on domain and its contents to a main domain then you will have to login to your cPanel account. Open public_html/add on domain and copy all your files and paste it outside the add on domain. You will also have to change the path in your code too.

    Moreover, you will also have to host your add on domains as a main domain.
     
  3. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What I make out of your query is that you have two hosting accounts at the moment. One old and the other new. and now you want to move the domain associated with the old account to your new account and make it an add-on domain. Is that correct?

    If thats the case then I would suggest you to download the files pertaining to you old domain, say abc.com, to your local system via FTP.

    In the new hosting account, say xyz.com, create a sub-folder as 'abc' under the public_html directory for xyz.com.

    Upload the files for abc.com back from your local system to the above sub-folder.

    A faster method to achieve this is via 'scp' . Just google it and you'll get enough info on that.

    Once you are ready, create the add-on domain 'abc.com' via the cPanel for xyz.com and make sure that it is pointing to the above sub-folder. You might encounter an error if the domain abc.com is currently pointing to other name servers than the one used by xyz.com. In that case, you will have to first change the name servers for abc.com at the registrar or get your host to tweak the server temporarily so that you can add the domain. Hope this helps!
     
  4. Wimbledon

    Wimbledon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia
    InstaCarma_Tech,

    Your advice is exactly what I was looking for - thank you!

    I will try this and post back in the next few days, hopefully with everything working.

    :)
     
  5. Wimbledon

    Wimbledon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia
    I finally found the time to try this!

    Just moved everything over as an addon-domain and changed the nameserver settings a few minutes ago, so I guess we'll see if everything works over the next few days as the nameservers adjusts. *fingers crossed*
     
Loading...

Share This Page