The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving Servers WHM > WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Invision, Feb 28, 2003.

  1. Invision

    Invision Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Situtation:
    I want to move a few resellers and all there clients from one server to another without getting all the clients to change DNS settings at there registrar.

    I've test copy feature and have the sites on the server I want them to be host from but I'm having trouble getting the DNS to point to use the IP's of the NEW nameservers?

    Any Idea's Suggestions?
     
  2. brandonk

    brandonk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think what you want to do is modify the DNS zones on your DNS server where you nameservers are pointing to. Say you have to servers, A is old, B is the new one, A is probably where your current nameservers are being "served" from thus A is the DNS server. Edit the DNS zones for the domains to point to the IP address on server B. It can take a bit of time for this to go into affect, if you put the TTL at 900 and THEN do the move a day later you'll be better off. Transfer the sites again right before you change the DNS so that your users get all their mail, changes they've made recently, etc and THEN RIGHT AWAY go and change the IP address in the DNS and BOOM in 15 minutes they will be on server B completely.

    Good luck, hope that made sense. :D
     
  3. Invision

    Invision Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That is true, however when I create the nameservers on B it says that the ns1 and ns2 already exist (old ips).

    So how can I make the transfer effortless for the account holders?
     
  4. KevlerS

    KevlerS Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Does anyone have a solution to this?
     
  5. Invision

    Invision Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here's how I used to do it.

    Buy another domain mydomain.net and then get the clients to change Nameservers from mydomain.com to mydomain.net

    But it would be nice just to change IP's for namservers.
     
  6. KevlerS

    KevlerS Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I searched the forum a little more and found this:

    Q: Yes, but how do I know the IP addresses if I cannot allocate them in WHM?
    I receive the message below: Sorry, the name server ns1.***.com already has the IP 216.180.x.x assigned to it.

    A: You must manually edit the /etc/nameserverips file -- which is read-only by default.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4452&highlight=moving+servers
     
  7. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There's probably an easier way, but this is what I just did that worked. I moved the sites. I edited the DNS zones on server A to redirect their sites to server B (and removed their /etc/localdomain entries on server A). I manually edited /etc/nameserverips on server B, added my nameservers from server A and selected Add an A entry (this may have required a manual edit, too). I changed the IP's of the nameservers with my registrar. A couple days later that change propagated and I was done. I wiped server A clean and prepared it for it's next function.
     
Loading...

Share This Page