The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving site from one server to another

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dxer, Oct 3, 2003.

  1. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    is it possible to download backup of entire web site from cPanel option backup (and SQL bases-forum is on that site) and then upload it on another web site using cPanel backup feature too.
    Is there any possibility of problems that somethign would not run on news server or if I run download/upload it will all seat nice and we can continue with our work

    Both servers have cPanel but different version (latest stable 7, and latest stable 8.4.0 on new server)

    When I open cPanel backup page it says that this option is not activated . Where can I activate this option from WHM ?
     
    #1 dxer, Oct 3, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2003
  2. mickeymouse

    mickeymouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dear dxer,

    You can download the site using cpanel option backup. Sql database alone can also download. You can upload this backup to another server having cpanel with the backup option. Not sure about news server, but i think it will not make any trouble. Cpanel latest versions has not that much problem in backups.If you are having SSH then you can make a tar file under your public_ftp for your all site and you can download that one and upload to another server using FTP clients. It will work more faster.In WHM there is option to transfer a site from one server to another.

    Regards,
     
  3. botakedan

    botakedan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have done the second ways
    it more easier. but tho problem is.
    Non of SQL database is transfered
    the transfer features from WHM only transfer data from /home/userfolder
    sql is another folder

    is there any simple ways so it can transfer all sql database with WHM
    or may be with difficult ways... using SSH..

    Need Help.
    Thanks
     
  4. websupport

    websupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. ejoan

    ejoan Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's also good to check that both servers have the same version of MySQL. My transfers weren't transferring the databases until that was fixed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page