The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving sites to an occupied IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fromthe5, May 6, 2009.

  1. fromthe5

    fromthe5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can't seem to find a way to add or move sites to an IP that already has one site on it. The dropdown box shows empty. There has to be a way. Can anyone give me some assistance?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you assign an IP address to a website, that IP address is a dedicated IP address. That means that IP address can only be used for that account from that point forward. You cannot have 2 accounts use the same "dedicated" IP address.
     
  3. fromthe5

    fromthe5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So there's no way I can ever get more than one site per additional IP? That seems rather odd. Is there a way to make an additional IP a shared IP?
     
    #3 fromthe5, May 6, 2009
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  4. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are root on the server, setup a reseller account and assign it to the second IP address. The sites assigned to the reseller will share the second IP.

    Ron
     
  5. fromthe5

    fromthe5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So if I have four additional IPs then I need to set up four reseller accounts. I think that should solve the problem. Thank you.
     
  6. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Don't forget to assign the shared IP in the reseller center under "Manage Main Shared/Ipless Ip". You can choose any unassigned IP for the shared IP.

    Ron
     
  7. fromthe5

    fromthe5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm finally getting back to this little project. I created a package and assigned an available IP. When I try to create an account it tells me that the package has no name, but as I see it it does. Am I missing something?
     
  8. fromthe5

    fromthe5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Belay that. I have it figured out.... I think.
     
Loading...

Share This Page