The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving to cPanel clustered DNS (cPanel DNS Only)

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Rahxie, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. Rahxie

    Rahxie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I'm hoping to start using clustered DNS for cPanel rather than setting up different nameservers for each new server. Is it possible to do this when I've already started using the following setup:

    ns1/ns2 - server 1
    ns3/ns4 - server 2

    These servers have normal shared and reseller clients so if possible I'd prefer to have no downtime with IP changes etc. I'm not sure if I'd be able to run clustered DNS alongside normal for a while though.. Any suggestions on the best way to do this?
     
  2. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes you can do that.

    Add two new DNS ONLY servers.

    DNS ONLY Server #1 alpha
    ns1/ns3

    DNS ONLY Server #2 bravo
    ns2/ns4

    Make alpha and bravo dns slaves, where they don't forward dns changes.

    Make your two other boxes (server1 & server2) fordward all dns changes to both alpha and bravo.

    (you set all that up in WHM under cluster config)

    Now change the IP addresses attached to your name servers with your registrar... and change your nameserver A records to reflect the new IP addresses. Server1 and Server2 can continue to serve dns requests during the propagation period. But offloading your dns traffic will eventually be an added benefit.
     
  3. Rahxie

    Rahxie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you jdarow, just what I was looking for. :)
     
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
  5. oshs

    oshs Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I'd also recommend that you first change ns4, and test it works correctly, then ns2, and if all good, ns1 and ns3.

    Just good practice to test using the secondary nameservers before actually switching your primary nameservers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page