Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

MPM is "prefork", mod_qos wants "worker", what to do?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by postcd, Apr 25, 2015.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hello,

    in Apache error log i found:
    [notice] mod_qos(009): loaded MPM is 'Prefork' but mod_qos should be used with MPM 'Worker' only.

    In EasyApache i have installed Mod Ruid2 0.9.8 and in easyapache i see this module "Disables MPM Worker".

    MPM Prefork (recommended) is unticked in EasyApache, but my EasyApache profile is:

    Apache 2.2
    PHP 5.3
    MPM Prefork <-----
    Mod Ruid2

    Server Version: Apache/2.2.29 (Unix) ... mod_qos/11.5

    so can i safelly ignore that qos warning or stop using mod qos? i see MPM prefork is recommended by cPanel... or what to do?

    Thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You will need to choose between using Mod_QOS and using Mod_Ruid2. The mpm_worker_module Apache MPM and the mpm_event_module Apache MPM are thread-based MPMs. MPMs that use threads do not work with the mod_ruid2 Apache module, because they alter the UID and GID at the process level.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    thx, my mod_ruid did not worked, so i think i will have to use QOS and use EasyApache to enable MPM Worker even MPM Prefork is marked as "recommended" in EasyApache right..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, the mpm_worker_module Apache module is required if you plan to use mod_qos.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    thx, pls anyone knows why is prefork "recommended" (in easyapache) over "worker" so i know it is a good step to switch this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Prefork is recommended over the other MPM options due to it's stability. This is documented at:

    MPM Options

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    thx, one more thing, in EasyApache, Exhaustive Options List, i did not found Worker MPM, only:
    MPM ITK
    MPM Prefork
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have Mod_Ruid2 installed? Note that it's not compatible with MPM Worker.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Yes, when unticked Ruid2 in EasyApache, i think i was able to select MPM Worker. thanks

    At the end i switched back to Prefork as mod_qos still dont shown details per domain/user account on Apache Status page in WHM and on that Apache status page, there was too many dots (as available apache connection)
    sorry for my english
    My issue is now solved. Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice