Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

mrtg on centos?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 10101, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. 10101

    10101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    I have used mrtg rpms on RH before but it doenst seem to like centos, is it possible to get it working on centos?

    Thanks,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
  3. 10101

    10101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    thanks, I will take a look.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. 10101

    10101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I got a copy of mrtg working great and then when upcp ran it thought it would be clever and update mt mrtg too.... which it gladley broke.

    How do you stop cpanel updating certain programs?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    On Centos, you should find the following file

    /etc/yum.conf

    Code:
    [main]
    exclude=mrtg httpd kernel kernel-smp mysql php mod_* perl
    (add this at the top of the file with mrtg and that should resolve the problem updating mrtg)

    You can add packages to that file to be excluded, include/exclude as many as you need to , those listed above would be just an example of some that you don't really want updated as a rule automatically by yum updates. (which cpanel runs each night if you have that option for security updates set to on in whm).

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. 10101

    10101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    That worked a treat! thanks very much :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Adrnalnrsh

    Adrnalnrsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    AZ
    Im trying this now.

    We'll see how it goes.

    Thanks,

    Dave.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Has anyone got mrtg running where the server load is not measured by snmp but instead reports on the load averages that 'top' would report?

    I ask because the two are not often (ever?) the same. I've had a few occasions recently where a server has ground to a halt because of a runaway process and 'top' was indeed reporting load averages as being very high. But at the time I was looking a nice mrtg graph of cpu load that uses snmp for it's server load info, and everything looked normal.

    In other words, it's not much point me having a nice mrtg graph of server load ('cpu utilization') if it's not giving me useful information.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice