The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MS FrontPage Extensions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by marceloa, Jan 13, 2003.

  1. marceloa

    marceloa Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone knows how to configure MS FrontPage extensions, so multiple users will be allowed to publish to the website via Front Page?:)
     
  2. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    From FP: Tools -& Security -& Permissions
     
  3. marceloa

    marceloa Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Juan,
    could you please be more specific?
    Are you refering to the client?
    I was reverring to the web server.
    From other web site management tools(ensim for example), they let you configure the FP extensions to have multiple users. cpanel does not.
     
  4. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    I didn't find any problems adding new users from frontpage, without having to configure anything on the server.
     
  5. marceloa

    marceloa Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    front page security

    In my installation of FrontPage, the security item in the tools menu is disabled; Probably because FrontPage security relies on the security attribures of NTFS, whereas my installation is on a FAT32 drive.

    I cannot change the file system for reasons that not attain to this conversation.

    But the main point is that other web site control panels let you manage (or will launch an application that will let you) the extensions in your web server so you can configure multiple users.

    Also having multiple users in the server, lets the users publish from diferent computers, without having to configure security in each of them.
     
  6. tloomos

    tloomos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When attempting to configure security settings via frontpage, you need to open the site directly from frontpage - not your local copy. So if you work on your site in c:\My Webs\website and publish to http://mysite.com, you need to open the website http://mysite.com from FrontPage in order for the security option to be enabled.

    This configures the security on the server so you can login from any computer.

    I have not personally seen a way to manage FP security from a server control panel, but the only ones I've used are cpanel and the proprietary thing on some of the interland servers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page