Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multilib version problem

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by streamaster, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. streamaster

    streamaster Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry but I have tried to find a solution to this for hours....

    Tried to upgrade both via WHM and command line and end up with this issue specifically it seems a clash between Protected multilib versions: libyaml-0.1.3-4.el6_6.i686 != libyaml-0.1.6-1.el6.x86_64

    I know my server only needs the 64 bit version but when I try and remove libyaml-0.1.3-4.el6_6.i686 it wont let me it says python is dependent on it

    its driving me nuts...

    i ended up getting easy apache 4 installed but now it wont let me install PHP...to be honest i am not even quite sure how i got that far...I am going to have to restore the snapshot as its broken now....because PHP is not even installed...

    I am pretty much a novice in linux sorry

    here is a copy of the log file for the PHP install log but it was the exact same error with trying the command line update
    Code:
    > Running transaction check
    ---> Package libvpx.x86_64 0:1.3.0-5.el6_5 will be installed
    ---> Package libyaml-devel.x86_64 0:0.1.3-4.el6_6 will be installed
    --> Processing Dependency: libyaml = 0.1.3-4.el6_6 for package: libyaml-devel-0.1.3-4.el6_6.x86_64
    ---> Package scl-utils.x86_64 0:20120927-29.el6_9 will be installed
    ---> Package t1lib.x86_64 0:5.1.2-6.el6_2.1 will be installed
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package libyaml.i686 0:0.1.3-4.el6_6 will be installed
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error:  Multilib version problems found. This often means that the root
    cause is something else and multilib version checking is just
    pointing out that there is a problem. Eg.:
    
      1. You have an upgrade for libyaml which is missing some
         dependency that another package requires. Yum is trying to
         solve this by installing an older version of libyaml of the
         different architecture. If you exclude the bad architecture
         yum will tell you what the root cause is (which package
         requires what). You can try redoing the upgrade with
         --exclude libyaml.otherarch ... this should give you an error
         message showing the root cause of the problem.
    
      2. You have multiple architectures of libyaml installed, but
         yum can only see an upgrade for one of those arcitectures.
         If you don't want/need both architectures anymore then you
         can remove the one with the missing update and everything
         will work.
    
      3. You have duplicate versions of libyaml installed already.
         You can use "yum check" to get yum show these errors.
       You can use "yum check" to get yum show these errors.
    
    ...you can also use --setopt=protected_multilib=false to remove
    this checking, however this is almost never the correct thing to
    do as something else is very likely to go wrong (often causing
    much more problems).
    
    Protected multilib versions: libyaml-0.1.3-4.el6_6.i686 != libyaml-0.1.6-1.el6.x86_64
    > Leaving Shell
    
    
     
    #1 streamaster, Nov 5, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 5, 2017
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    It appears to be some sort of dependency and mismatch issue stricked this installation not letting the PHP to be installed. Check the Easyapache logs and see whether it did install PHP or not..
     
  3. streamaster

    streamaster Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for the reply

    No it didn't install PHP....Once I had easy apache 4 running the first thing it did was offer to install PHP...and it offered up the same error as when i was trying to migrate...I am not sure what I did that finally allowed migration or if i can repeat it as I had to restore the instance from a snapshot to restore the web servers.

    If I use WHM to migrate it just automatically reverts....the command line gives up this error. the log is not much help either...

    I have not ever done anything to WHM out of the ordinary...maybe I should open a support ticket...its running on Vultr virtual private servers...as far as i am concerned it should just work...maybe? lol thats funny.

    I was hoping someone had seen this before :(
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The issue is that your system package manager (YUM) is unable to update successfully due to multiple installations (32-bit and 64-bit) of the same RPM. You will need to manually remove the duplicate RPMs that do not match your system's architecture. EX:

    Code:
    rpm -e --nodeps libyaml-0.1.3-4.el6_6.i686
    Additionally, you may also need to review the repo files in your /etc/yum.repos.d/ directory to verify there are no custom repos that are leading to the installation of those 32-bit RPMs.

    Thank you.
     
  5. streamaster

    streamaster Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your reply ...I had already tried that and got this error:

    error: package libyaml-0.1.3-4.el6_6.i686 is not installed

    Which makes no sense unless it is installed during the migration process for some reason because of the profile?

    As i did the install myself on to the server(s) I know there is no custom anything on it....also I have two servers (two separate instances) that give exactly the same error....Though i am a bit curious about what varnish is doing there....I installed that on my other server not this one.

    here is a directory listing...is there anything there you can see that shouldnt? Sorry I am flying a little blind here....I guess I could move all the websites to the other server then reinstall but that seems a bit drastic...plus dont think I have enough disk space :(...or create a new instance...rebuild cpanel, make sure it works...move the websites then move the cpanel I/P address across to the new instance....

    root@server2 [/etc/yum.repos.d]# dir
    ./ CentOS-Debuginfo.repo CentOS-Vault.repo MariaDB100.repo
    ../ CentOS-fasttrack.repo cPAddons.repo varnish.repo
    CentOS-Base.repo CentOS-Media.repo cpanel-plugins.repo

    cheers
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Those look standard, aside from the Varnish repo. Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature and we can take a closer look at your system.

    Thank you.
     
  7. streamaster

    streamaster Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks have done so :)
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Let us know the ticket number and we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page