The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple accounts per domain,

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Night44, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. Night44

    Night44 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I've just started working about in cpanel. My question is:

    Is it possible to assign multiple accounts to one domain. it should look something like this:

    User1 + User2 -> Site1
    User1 + User3 -> Site2
    User1 + User4 -> Site3

    So i was wondering...is this possible or have any of you done this before...
    maybe you know a howto that can help me out here :)

    Thnx
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You mention that this is for one domain, but your example shows multiple sites. Are these different sites going to be configured as subdomains, or just directories within the domain?
     
  3. Night44

    Night44 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, my example wasn't correct.

    It should have been

    User1 + User2 -> domain1

    User1 + User3 -> domain2

    User1 + User4 -> domain3

    After some browsing i've come to the conclusion that this isnt possible with cpanel.

    You see the reason i was asking about this is because i want to configure these domains to be managed by one user that has full access (user1). The other users should only be able to manage mail within these domains.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Seeing as User1 is a common user for all 3 domains, you could create User1 as a reseller (using a fake domain if needed, e.g. user1.example.com) and User1 can access those other domains. The only downside to this setup is User1 wouldn't be able to manage the databases for those domains via cPanel (but Users 2 3 and 4 can manage those databases)
     
  5. Night44

    Night44 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the fast replies, although there's a problem concerning some other software that's used to run the sites on these domains.

    I'm currently running multiple sites on one drupal core,

    This means:

    1 public_html folder inside that folder a folder with the drupal core x.x the sites are all running under this core.

    This way i only have to update 1 drupal core,

    If i would start using that setup i might have to switch to multiple public html folders and cores. This is gona take up some time...

    Anyways thanks again :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page