The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple Apache and PHP version

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by eristemena, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. eristemena

    eristemena Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can i set multiple Apache and or PHP installation for two or more IP using WHM?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Kelmas

    Kelmas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    What do you mean? You want to have serveral diffrent versions of Apache on the same machine?
     
  3. eristemena

    eristemena Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, something like that.

    We're running VPS, and we want to offer to our client the choice whether they will use Apache 1.3.x and PHP 4.x or Apache 2.x and PHP 5.x

    We have two IP's on our server, so i suppose we can set this IP to run different version of Apache+PHP+MySQL right?

    How can i do that using WHM?

    thanks
     
  4. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    No...

    Now what do you mean you are running an VPS? Does that mean, you own the whole server like you can create as many VPS servers or you just use a VPS server as in just one account?

    You can't have the option of going from Apache 1.3x + PHP 4.x and then going to Apache 2.x + PHP 5.x. It doesn't matter how many IPs you have.

    However, you can do Apache 1.3.x + PHP4 and PHP5 on one server.

    OR

    You can do Apache 2.x + PHP4 and PHP5 on one server.

    You may want to check out server Server Management as they would be able to do one of these for you...

    From,
    Adam
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make the Apache 1.3/PHP 4.4.x process listen on one IP while the Apache 2.x/PHP5.x process listens on another IP

    However, you'll want to custom compile Apache and PHP in order to install each into custom paths, otherwise you run the risk of having the install of Apache 2 overwrite the install of Apache 1.3 and likewise with PHP 4 and 5.
     
Loading...

Share This Page