The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple cPanel Servers Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vlee, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would like to know how to make this work.

    cPanel Server #1

    This the Main Server with Name Servers installed and main websites installed


    cPanel Server #2

    This server is the 1st client server for client websites


    cPanel Server #3

    This server is the 2nd client server for client websites


    So my question how do I setup cPanel Server #2 and cPanel Server #3 to use the name servers on cPanel Server #1?
     
  2. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    All you would have to do is setup the proper zone files on Server #1 and then make the appropriate references to the nameservers at the registrar for the domains.
     
  3. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So I would just create dns zone records in WHM under Main >> DNS Functions >> Add a DNS Zone for cPanel Server #2 and cPanel Server #3 on the cPanel Server #1 that will point to cPanel Server #2 and cPanel Server #3.

    Then just add name servers cPanel Server #1 to cPanel Server #2 and cPanel Server #3
     
  4. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    vlee,

    How are you naming your servers? Something like host1.example.com host2.example.com host3.example.com, or do you have different domains for the different servers?
     
  5. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Using the main domain that is also name servers

    Server #1 is main.domain.com

    Server #2 is host1.domain.com

    Server #3 is host2.domain.com
     
  6. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    vlee,

    You would just make a zonefile on main.domain.com for domain.com

    From there, just make A records for host1. and host2.

    The issue to consider is how you're going to handle DNS for the domains hosted on those servers.
     
  7. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What would be a good way to handle DNS for the domains hosted on host1 and host2 servers by using the main.domain.com server for DNS servers?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Based on the requirements you listed, you would setup and configure two name servers on "cPanel Server #1". These are the name servers the domain names on your other hosting servers should use. Then, you can cluster the other two servers so that DNS changes are synchronized to "cPanel Server #1". This is documented at:

    Guide to DNS Cluster Configuration

    Ideally, "cPanel Server #1" in this case, should not be used as a hosting server. Instead, it would be better served at handing just the DNS. That being said, the functionality to host accounts is possible if absolutely necessary.

    Thank you.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page