The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple crond instances

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by T.C., Mar 31, 2015.

  1. T.C.

    T.C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    I've a strange problem since a couple of months. By now I'm running WHM 11.48.2 (build 3)
    I've multiple crond instances running so cron run multiple times at the same time (checked with ps -aux| grep crond).
    I've already checked that cron aren't registered more than once.
    If I kill the processes and I keep only one instance everything works fine for sometime (maybe hours or days).
    Is there a way to solve the problem or at least to force crond process to run as unique instance?

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I don't think you will be able to do that as multiple crons are running at the same time. You might want to give a thought on changing time.
     
  3. T.C.

    T.C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I DON'T want to run the cron multiple time. It's exactly the opposite.
     
  4. T.C.

    T.C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Anyone have run into this issue? :(
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What cron is it specifically that's running?
     
  6. T.C.

    T.C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cron runs once a day a command line application written with Laravel (php framework).
    I've already checked that is not a problem related to php app.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    But there is a problem, its running multiple instances.
     
  8. T.C.

    T.C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Application run multiple times because crond daemon run multiple times. A sstated in my first post if I run ps aux |grep crond I see something similar to this, i.e. multiple instances created many days ago. And if I kill the processes sometimes later they comes back

    root@cloud01 [/home/admin2]# ps aux |grep crond
    root 18680 06:32 crond
    root 7200 Mar 05 crond
    root 11108 Mar 13 crond
     
  9. T.C.

    T.C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've tried the following, and it seems it works (since 3 days at least):
    I killed all the crond instances with kill PROCESS_ID
    I waited for 5 minutes (the time chksrvd needs to do service checks)
    Crond was started by chksrvd

    I'll continue to monitor the situation, if everything will continue to work fine I consider the problem solved
     
Loading...

Share This Page