The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple dns.

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by popescu_oge, Oct 15, 2009.

1. popescu_oge

popescu_oge Member

Hi,

I'm kind of new in this dns, hosting, server "world".

I gave some domains. Each domain has this dns settings:
    ns1.serverA.com, ns2.serverA.com and ns1.serverB.com, ns2.serverB.com.

Two questions:
    1. Why is it that when serverA for example is down, the Web Browser of the person who is visiting my domain gets the "no response" error?? I mean shouldn't his browser load the web page from serverB automatically??:confused:

2. And another one. When I set the dns for any domain and hit save, the nameservers get saved in another order. So, what is the order in which this dns get saved???? And under what principle toes this work???And in what order they get loaded by the visitator???

Thanks.

2. cPanelDon

cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    1.) If the physical server is offline the domain will appear down. Is each DNS/name server on the same physical machine?

2.) Where is the DNS being set? If this is at the domain registrar, it might not be possible to "re-order" the way in which they are listed; however, this should not have a negative effect on using the domain.

3. popescu_oge

popescu_oge Member

There are 4 nameservers, 2 physical machines, 2 nameservers for each.

I was hoping that if one physical server is offline, it will try the other nameservers (if they are other nameservers) for one that is online. That was the reason that we set the second physica machine.

4. Spiral

Spiral BANNED