The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple Domains, Multi IP's, One Account, One Home Folder

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stuff4Toys, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. Stuff4Toys

    Stuff4Toys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The title pretty much sums up the project.
    Multiple Domains, Multi IP's, One Account, One Home Folder

    This is for a corporate eCommerce site, not reselling or affiliating.

    I have a project that requires multi IP's & SSLs with One set of data. Each domain will have it's own ip address and SSL, but share the same document root. And I would like to manage the whole mess from one cPanel login.

    I need to do something like this:

    One Account & cPanel login name (let's call it "name")
    www.domain1.com ip.address.1 /home/name/public_html/
    www.domain2.com ip.address.2 /home/name/public_html/
    www.domain3.com ip.address.3 /home/name/public_html/
    www.domain4.com ip.address.4 /home/name/public_html/

    Thanks
    JOhn ><>
     
    #1 Stuff4Toys, Jan 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  2. Stuff4Toys

    Stuff4Toys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It looks like I have had a few lookers at this topic, but no takers yet.

    I have studdied my httpd.conf carefully and noticed that I can add paramaters to the apache servers startup by adding to the post_virtualhost_2.conf file.

    I understand that this negates the control from cPanel but I will not need to use mail or other services for these domains.

    Can I just duplicate the current entries I see for my primary domains
    Code:
    <VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.1:80>
    and
    Code:
    NameVirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.1:443
    sections? Replacing the ip address and domain names in the appropriate sections, using the same usegroup names?

    ???
    JOhn ><>
     
  3. Stuff4Toys

    Stuff4Toys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ya, YA, Ya
    After reading http://www.cpanel.net/support/docs/ea/ea3/customdirectives.html
    I have a little better understanding of how this works.

    Can I create OVERRIDES with this method?

    If the httpd.conf says that the path to a document root is:
    /home/name/public_html/domain1

    Can I override this directive my placing in the post_virtualhost the same ip address:
    Code:
    <VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.1:80>
        ServerName domain1.com
        DocumentRoot /home/name/public_html
    Will this override the previous and use the new info instead? :D

    That would be cool.
    JOhn ><>
     
  4. Stuff4Toys

    Stuff4Toys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I am still trying to figure out how to do this. Anyone here willing to help me get a clue?

    JOhn ><>
     
Loading...

Share This Page