The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

multiple domains, same hosting account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mike4973, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. mike4973

    mike4973 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everybody,

    This might seem like a totally stupid question, but I'm a newbie. I have a hosting account with unlimited domains possible. I want to have multiple domains that don't interact/interfere with each other--just separate domains and sites, that happen to have the same hosting account.

    What do I need to know on cPanel in order to do that?

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can actually create add-on domains to do this. To keep this from interfering with your primary domain, just set the path to something like myDomain in the cPanel interface when creating the add-on domain rather than public_html/myDomain as public_html is where your primary domain is stored.
     
  3. mike4973

    mike4973 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    redirect?

    Hi David,

    Thanks for that reply. I know I am a newbie to all of this, so I have another question--if you wouldn't mind answering in explicit detail.

    I have created a couple of paths in my public_html folder, each one being named after a separate domain name. I have set the nameservers of my domains to all be through my one hosting account.

    How do I now get, when someone types in "www.mydomain.com", for them to get access to the index page in the particular public_html/mydomain folder I have created?

    Thanks!
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you create an add-on domain, you are prompted for where you want that domain to point. You are welcome to point that to an existing folder you have already set up for that domain.
     
  5. mike4973

    mike4973 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Am I allowed to put my main domain files in a folder of public_html, or do they have to be in the public_html folder itself? I can't seem to redirect my main domain to go anywhere else.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The files for your primary domain must be in public_html.

    The files for addon domains may be anywhere within your user directory.
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, the interface will not permit you to create add-on domains otherwise.
     
  8. mike4973

    mike4973 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do I need to setup different ftp's for each domain?
     
  9. mike4973

    mike4973 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't understand how to do this. Can you take me step by step from what I need to do to get additional domains on my hosting account to actually having them up there? I can't figure it out from the tutorial videos.

    I have a hosting account from a company called '1st advantage solutions.' They have told me that I will put all my additional domains on the same account.

    I don't know if that means I use the same "host", "Username" and "password" when I login to my filezilla ftp program.
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. Register the additional domain with a domain registrar
    2. Set the nameservers at your registrar for that domain to point to your hosting provider's nameservers.
    3. Login to cPanel and click "Addon Domains"
    4. For "New Domain Name:" enter the domain you wish to add to your account.
    5. Feel welcome to accept the defaults, just set the password for the FTP account.
    6. You can upload pages by EITHER using those FTP credentials, or the FTP credentials for your main cPanel account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page