The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple domains with email domains issue

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Supra53231, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. Supra53231

    Supra53231 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i run 3 domains on my cpanel hosting service,
    2 addon domains and 1 domain for signing up with them.

    my issue. for example:

    www.domain1.com email is me@domain1.com with mail.domain1.com

    BUT

    Welcome to DOMAIN2.COM email is me@domain2.com with mail.domain1.com


    when setting up a mail on outlook or thunderbird my mail.domain#.com doesn't work.

    only one of the domains works.

    how can i get me@domain1.com to go by mail.domain1.com
    and get meagain@domain2.com go with mail.domain2.com.

    like i mentioned above is that i am getting me@domain1.com with mail.domain2.com


    programs i have for my mail in cpanel are:

    Email accounts
    Webmail
    Boxtrapper
    Spam Assassin
    Forwarders
    Auto Responders
    Default Address
    mailing lists
    User level filtering
    account level filtering
    email delivery route
    import addresses/ forwarders
    email authentication
    MX Entry

    its driving me off the wall. because my main mail.domain.com is from an addon domain.

    i want them to all have there own mail.domain.com not off another domains mail.domain.com


    regards.
     
  2. KMK Enterprises

    KMK Enterprises Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do you have the DNS set up for the add-on domains?
     
  3. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If the "mail." sub-domain is not working for a specific domain, this should be investigated by the System Administrator. One possible cause is a missing "A" record for the "mail." sub-domain in the DNS zone for the domain where it does not work.

    Please check to ensure the "mail." sub-domain exists in the DNS zone on the DNS/name servers that are authoritative for the domain name (i.e., on the DNS servers that are defined at the domain registrar).
     
  4. Supra53231

    Supra53231 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok as i just left it alone to do its thing, heres whats happening now. my addondomains are working for the mail. but the domain i registered with to get cpanel and whm on a server doesnt seem to be working . and im not sure whats going on with this thing. but so far. 2 addon-domains are working but the dedicated domain isnt working for mail.

    is there anything to do with the MX Entry or what.

    regards,
    adam
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    It will help to have some additional information and detail to help us troubleshoot the issue further.

    1.) Am I correct to understand that the only thing not working for the "dedicated domain" is the "mail.domain.tld" sub-domain? If this is not a correct understanding, please try to carefully rephrase a detailed description of the precise symptom(s).

    2.) Is the affected domain also used in the server hostname?

    3.) Via root SSH access, what is the hostname displayed by the following command:
    Code:
    # hostname
    What I'm looking for is something in a similar naming format to one of the following examples:
    domain.tld
    servername.domain.tld
    servername.example.domain.tld

    4.) Via root SSH access, what is the output from the following "dig" commands (where "domain.tld" should be replaced by the affected domain name):
    Code:
    # dig mail.domain.tld A +all
    # dig @127.0.0.1 mail.domain.tld A +all
     
  6. Shyam Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ernakulam, Kerala, IN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    You just need to make sure that mail.domain#.com are working and resolving to the correct Ip. You can check this using the simple ping tool, ie

    ping mail.domain1.com
    ping mail.domain2.com

    These must resolve to the correct Ip address.

    Also make sure that domain1 & domain2 are in the localdomains list.
     
Loading...

Share This Page