The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple email addresses

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by billzant, Oct 5, 2013.

  1. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Dear cPanel forum,

    I use multiple accounts with Outlook.

    I am trying to resolve an ISP problem with Outlook so am using cPanel online.

    How can I use CPanel to receive emailsfor multiple email addresses?

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,466
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can setup as many email accounts as your Hosting Provider permits on your account Package.

    The proper settings you use to configure those email accounts in Outlook are listed in your cPanel.

    cPanel > Email Accounts > find the "More" button to the right of the email account you have setup, and click the "Configure Email Client" link you find there.
     
  3. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks for your help.

    I have setup the email accounts on the config page, but I don't know how to access the different addresses when using Horde.

    I couldn't see a ""more" button nor configure email client. I have a problem with my ISP where sending email is being blocked, I am trying to see the multiple accounts on Horde.

    Previously I was able to see multiple accounts in Outlook before the blocking problem started.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,466
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You access email accounts one by one using the full email address as the user's login name, and that email accounts password.
    If you're logging in as the main cPanel user, and wanted to send out an email from one of the accounts, you'll need to create identities.

    While in Horde, General Options > Personal Information > 'Select the identity you want to change' > Create a new one.

    Be sure you're looking in the right place. There is no option to disable this that I'm aware of.

    Probably due to email being sent out on a port that your ISP blocks, like port 25. You should contact your Hosting Provider and ask him to change this.

    Having access to all email accounts as the main cPanel user, shouldn't really be used to send email, IMO.

    You're speaking of Webmail above, and then mentioning Outlook here. Two different beasts. As I said, if you have multiple email accounts, you are able to set them all up, in Outlook individually, and check each, or all as you wish.

    If you're not configured properly, server side and in your email client (Outlook), you can get blocked. One place to check if your IP range is blocked, is here:
    Blocklist Removal Center - The Spamhaus Project

    If you find your IP is listed, read the details. For example:

    I am, thank you. :)
     
  5. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks a lot for such a detailed response I will deal with them gradually.

    My default address is billz, an alternate address is ginsukapaapdee. I logged in with the ginsukapaapdee email address, and the mail in Horde was for the default address billz. The password is the same for both addresses.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ

    - - - Updated - - -

    "Probably due to email being sent out on a port that your ISP blocks, like port 25. You should contact your Hosting Provider and ask him to change this."

    My hosting provider has been helpful, but you feel it is their problem and not TOT?

    I did notice when I searched about the port being blocked it was web hosts who had come up with the workarounds.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  6. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I should give more details concerning the history of the problem.

    For many years I have used Outlook to check email. Just recently there has been a problem with sending. Using the config programme I have setup 5 email accounts that I used to check with Outlook.

    Once Outlook was giving me problems I went to the local TOT office to ask them to fix it. They tried to be helpful but did not fix the problem.

    So I have resorted to using online email for my webhost accessed through cPanel. My question was concerned with using this stop-gap method for email, I hope to be able to resolve the Outlook issue.

    Infopro, I hope this makes things clearer, and thanks again for your help.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
    #6 billzant, Oct 7, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2013
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,466
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should contact your ISP and ask why mail is being blocked. If they tell you mail cannot be sent out on port 25, then you need to contact your Hosting Provider and ask to have another port opened on the server for you. If they have no idea on how to do that, you can link them to the cPanel docs, here:
    Service Manager - cPanel Documentation
    Specifically, the part about "Exim on another port"

    Oncve your Hosting Provider adds another port, you would edit your Outlook configuration for each and every email account to use that new port number.

    To be honest, your issues here are not unique. This is quite common and the fix is not a stopgap fix, its how its handled. Your Hosting Provider should know about these things. if they don't, find a new one.
     
  8. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Dear Infopro,

    Thanks again for this.

    I looked at the link and it appears to deal exactly with the problem we are discussing.

    I had searched for info on the blocking problem and noticed that many hosts had provided solutions. Normally my host is quite good but they are cheap. At the same time I live in Thailand, I know of no-one else using Outlook certainly not in the rural area I live in. I am sure I could pay more here and still not find a solution. I prefer to deal with Thai companies but I might be forced to go elsewhere because of this.

    Things are slow out here - and usually that is why I like it. I will pursue your suggestions and see what happens.

    Thanks again for all your help, the info is invaluable.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  9. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Dear Infopro,

    My host provider has just told me that I have shared hosting and not private hosting so he is not allowed to change the output port.

    If I cannot get the ISP to change the port then I need to pay for private hosting - or not use outlook.

    Do you know why I cannot see different inboxes when I login with a different address?

    Thanks again.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,466
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You need to find a new Hosting Provider. cPanel makes shared hosting, simple.

    When you log in to an email account via Webmail, use the full email address for the username and that email account password.

    We're going in circles now. Your Hosting Provider is the only one that can assist you here. And if he won't, you should find a new one.
     
Loading...

Share This Page