The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple instances of tomcat on one server

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Jan-Paul Kleijn, Sep 13, 2015.

  1. Jan-Paul Kleijn

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Maarheeze
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My goal is to enable multiple instances of tomcat 7 on my VPS:
    - CentOS 6.4
    - WHM version 11.50.1
    - EasyApache
    - Tomcat version 7.0.42

    I enabled loadbalancer worker by editing the files:
    1. /usr/local/easy/etc/easy-tomcat7/workers.properties
    2. /usr/local/easy/etc/easy-tomcat7/httpd-jk.conf
    3. .htaccess on the shared domain
    The JK Status Manager shows the standard tomcat 7 instance that is installed via EasyApache. It also shows the instances I defined in workers.properties, but these are always shown in the status ERR. I suppose this is because the extra workers are not bount to an instance of Tomcat.

    I would like to know if it is possible to create multiple instances of Tomcat on this configuration. If so, I would very much like to have a good description of how to do this on this configuration.

    (I found one forum entry about this but it was dated from 2007: https://forums.cpanel.net/threads/tomcat-question.73105/#post-340528.)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,783
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    There's no native support for this type of configuration, but you are welcome to attempt this setup on your server and let us know the outcome. You may want to consult with a qualified system administrator if you require assistance with the setup. The closest thread we have open for this is the one you referenced:

    https://forums.cpanel.net/threads/tomcat-question.73105/#post-340528

    Thank you.
     
  3. Jan-Paul Kleijn

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Maarheeze
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there Michael, thanks for your answer. In regard to your remark about consult from a qualified system administrator: As this is a WHM custom setup of Tomcat, the best help I can get will come from the people at WHM/Cpanel. The system administrator I spoke today said this to me. Please consider this.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,783
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's possible other users have configured Tomcat like this, so I will leave this thread open for additional user-feedback. However, note that any such configurations are unsupported by cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Jan-Paul Kleijn

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Maarheeze
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page