The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple IPs per domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Celtic Mad, May 27, 2006.

  1. Celtic Mad

    Celtic Mad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have 6 IPs and was wondering can I have the other 5 redirect to my site so when someone puts in any of the 6 IPs they come to my website?
     
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sure you can. Its going to have to be done manually but it can be done. Apache will always default to the first entry for a ip address if it does not find a valid virtual host entry so therefor just add 5 entries to the httpd.conf 1 for each address and set the path to the web you wish to display.

    NameVirtualHost 1.1.1.2
    <VirtualHost 1.1.1.2>
    DocumentRoot /path to web
    </VirtualHost>

    NameVirtualHost 1.1.1.3
    <VirtualHost 1.1.1.3>
    DocumentRoot /path to web
    </VirtualHost>

    etc

    Add additional entries to the VirtualHost container according to your needs
     
  3. Celtic Mad

    Celtic Mad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks,

    What would I put in 'DocumentRoot /path to web'?
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The actual file path to the website you wish to come up when they access that ip

    as in

    DocumentRoot /home/foo/public_html
     
  5. Celtic Mad

    Celtic Mad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok thanks, I have added them into httpd.conf

    Does it take a while to resolve?
     
  6. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It should be instant once you restart apache

    make sure you have the ips active on the server
     
  7. Celtic Mad

    Celtic Mad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Works like a charm. thanks:D
     
  8. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    your welcome
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can actually simplify that if they're all going to the same place by listing all the IP addresses in the one VirtualHost container of the main site:

    <VirtualHost 1.1.1.2 1.1.1.3 1.1.1.4>

    ;)
     
  10. computica

    computica Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hate to dig up an old thread but I'm looking at this a couple years later and wondering if anything has changed with the procedure. We are running WHM/Cpanel and when viewing the httpd.conf it shows that these lines should not be edited and that an include file should be used instead.

    To give a little background, we are looking into getting some redundancy for our server's internet connection and need to know how to setup the WHM/Cpanel server itself to accept traffic on both the primary and the secondary (failover) IP addresses. We will be using dnsmadeeasy to handle the DNS part of the equation, we just need to make sure the server is ready to accept the traffic once people are directed to the new IP.

    In short, what needs to be done to set this up to work properly on our WHM/CPanel server?
     
  11. computica

    computica Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Resurrecting once again since we are looking once more into setting this up. We need cPanel to accept web traffic (and preferably also mail traffic) FROM more than one IP TO a single cPanel account.

    Thanks for any pointers.
     
  12. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The configuration part really has not changed and remains the same as
    it was back when this thread originally began despite the current use
    of include files.

    You would need to expand the virtualhost container to include the new IPs
    and then of course update your DNS zone files to also resolve the new IPs.

    Now if this is all on one server with a single network interface running
    multiple IPs, there is no real tactical advantage to doing this and it
    won't do anything in terms of "load balance" or "failover" because you
    are running off of the same physical machine so one down is all down.

    If you are dealing with multiple physical network interfaces, that might
    be a different issue but again limited if you are running the same server
    as would be the case for this sort of configuration.

    To have any kind of real "failover" type configuration for multiple IPs,
    those IPs would actually be on different servers and the DNS would be
    setup to load balance between the multiple servers running mirrored
    accounts between each other each on their own IP but with the
    same domain address.
     
  13. computica

    computica Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. We aren't looking for traditional "failover" in terms of the server itself, just in terms of the internet connection to the server. Web hosting is not our primary business and we maintain our own server with about 30 sites located our office. Our primary connection is via Cable which isn't 100% reliable, so our main concern is having a backup connection (DSL most likely) that will allow the sites/email to remain live while whatever issues with the primary connection are resolved.

    The server itself is virtualized and we have multiple backups, so we're not too concerned with redundancy in that department. Load balancing is also not an issue since we have a lot more power than what is required for the small amount of sites we host.

    Could you possibly point me in the proper direction in terms of setting up the include files to make this possible?

    Thanks,
     
  14. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could put the directives in the pre_virtualhost_global.conf file
    located at /usr/local/apache/conf/includes if you are looking to make
    modifications to all sites.

    You could theoretically add a new conf file to the virtualhost custom
    configuration path for each domain but I suspect this probably won't
    work as Apache goes with the first directive it sees and in this case
    would be that of loading the single IP address but in any case, the
    location to add custom virtualhost config files is at:
    Code:
    /usr/local/apache/conf/userdata/std/2/(login)/(domainname)
    Alternatively, if you have specific sites you want to expand the IP address,
    you could duplicate the virtualhost section for those accounts but instead
    label them under the new IP address(es) in their own new virtualhost
    sections and put that code in the following file:
    Code:
    /usr/local/apache/conf/includes/post_virtualhost_global.conf
    Any changes you make, it's probably good to go ahead and run the
    update script for Cpanel's apache handling so that it knows about
    the changes that you have made afterwards:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/build_apache_conf
    Now if you are wanting to do this for all sites, I myself would probably
    just update the main virtualhost template and add the extra IP addresses
    to the virtualhost section in the base template:
    Code:
    /var/cpanel/templates/apache2/vhost.default
    Perhaps take the following ...
    Code:
    <VirtualHost[% FOREACH ipblock IN vhost.ips %] [% ipblock.ip %]:[% ipblock.port %][% END %]>
    And change it to something like ...
    Code:
    <VirtualHost[% FOREACH ipblock IN vhost.ips %] [% ipblock.ip %]:[% ipblock.port %][% END %][b] x.x.x.x:80 y.y.y.y:80 z.z.z.z:80[/b]>
    Theoretically, you would still need to add the respective NameVirtualHost
    command in the main httpd.conf but since Cpanel uses a wildcard entry
    as the last entry, this might not be totally necessary.

    If you try the later approach updating the templates, don't forget to
    rebuild your apache configuration afterwards for those changes to
    take effect and then restart you Apache server process either way.

    Hope that helps
     
Loading...

Share This Page