The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple Mx entries...how?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lordkinjo, May 18, 2004.

  1. lordkinjo

    lordkinjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I know how to edit an mx record inside cpanel per domain name, but I have a customer that is handleing their own email in house and asked me to change the mx records for this domain to this:

    domain.com IN MX 10 domain.com.mail5.psmtp.com

    domain.com IN MX 20 domain.com.mail6.psmtp.com

    domain.com IN MX 30 domain.com.mail7.psmtp.com

    domain.com IN MX 40 domain.com.mail8.psmtp.com

    I have looked everywhere and I can't see where to do this...
    I looked into editing the dns zone for this domain but don't know if this is the right place...

    Can anyone help or if this has been discussed before point me where I can read about it...

    Thanks

    Lordkinjo
     
  2. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, edit the dns zone for that account to reflect their desired changes and all will be cool;)
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You also need to remember to remove their domain from:
    /etc/localdomains
    and put it into:
    /etc/remotedomains
    Otherwise local email will still be delivered locally despite the MX record change. Doing the above forces Exim to deliver according to the MX values (so long as they deliver off server).
     
  4. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oops. My Bad!!!

    Every now and then, Chirpy does have a very valid point to add;) (thanks)
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Only when my head is screwed on right :p
     
  6. lordkinjo

    lordkinjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Chirpy,
    is there a file to edit...of do i move a folder?

    Lordkinjo
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    They're both files.
     
  8. lordkinjo

    lordkinjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok did that... The remote one was empty so i put the domain in it... Does it take a while to take effect...Do I need to restart exim?

    Lordkinjo
     
  9. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You are learning (and so am I).

    Yup!!! Restart all associated services as you have modified config files manually as opposed to using any of the service interfaces!
     
  10. lordkinjo

    lordkinjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It works....
    Thanks guys..

    Lordkinjo
     
Loading...

Share This Page