The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple nameservers with one set of IP's

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Spaceh, Sep 6, 2004.

  1. Spaceh

    Spaceh Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,
    I am running a dedicated server but i only have few IP's so i can not assign much name servers to IP's. The problem is, i was working with 3 resslerer acounts and when i rented this server i registered two new domains, setted up nameserver in the registar and assigned IP's to name servers.
    I went out of IP's so to this new domain i need to see name servers working i did the following, went to the registar and changed nameservers IP's and edited the domain DNS zone.
    The domain is Tugaspt.com
    and i haded this lines to the DNS zone:

    ns1.tugaspt.com 14400 A 65.75.182.120
    ns2.tugaspt.com 14400 A 65.75.182.120

    I think it should have worked with this configuration, but when i do a nslookup i get this:

    can't find ns1.tugaspt.com: Non-existent domain

    and when i do this via ssh:

    host -l ns1.tugaspt.com

    i get this:

    Host ns1.tugaspt.com not found: 9(NOTAUTH)
    ; Transfer failed.

    Any ideas?

    Tanks in advance
     
    #1 Spaceh, Sep 6, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2004
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The name server entries are missing the trailing period(s) for the zone file.
     
  3. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you must register your nameserver first on your domain registrar. check for childnameserver in your domain registrar control panel.
     
  4. Spaceh

    Spaceh Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    name server already registered....
    about the trailing period(s) can you explain it better?
    CAuse i am from Portugal and didnt got it
    :eek:

    :D
     
  5. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you make this entry "ns1.tugaspt.com 14400 A 65.75.182.120" for an A record, the nameserver entry should be ns1.tugaspt.com. not ns1.tugaspt.com
    No problem as I can't speak Portuguese. :)
     
  6. Spaceh

    Spaceh Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks a lot...
    going to fix it now

    Muito obrigado foste mega util

    Mega usefull ;)
     
  7. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cool. Thanks for the beginners lesson. :D
     
  8. Spaceh

    Spaceh Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just like me... a beginner in this servers administrator thing
    ;) ... is working already.... it was quite simple, but, who knows knows...

    Thanks once more

    Thanks = Obrigado :cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page