The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple Servers Same Nameserver?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by jthomas, May 10, 2007.

1. jthomas

jthomas Active Member

Hello

I am quite new to cpanel, but I was wondering if there was any way possible to set up my 3 servers to use the same nameservers and if so what would be the best way to set it up. Right now the way I set it up is that each server has its own domain name so that the nameservers will work properly. I would like to have it so that all 3 servers use NS1.mymaindomain.com and NS2.mymaindomain.com. I look forward to any of your help.

thank You,

Jeff

2. AlexV.

AlexV. Well-Known Member

jthomas:

Yes you can use the same nameservers.

On the same note, we offer DNS Cluster.

In addition of having a DNS Only version of cPanel which doesn't require licensing;
    http://layer1.cpanel.net/

3. AlexV.

AlexV. Well-Known Member

jthomas:

Did you intend to add the DNS zones manually on the primary nameserver, or what kind of implementation were you seeking.

I think the DNS Cluster could be potentially what you need, as it uses synchronization of dns zones when you create accounts or dns entries.

4. jthomas

jthomas Active Member

I really just wanted to set it up so that i have the same nameservers for all of my accounts across 2 or 3 servers.

For exampls, the nameservers that I want to use right now are set up on the first server and I also have the domain of those nameservers hosted on the server.

How should I set up this clustering so that an account that is on server 2 uses the nameservers that are on server 1.

Or even how would I set up NS1 on server 1 and NS2 on server 2 for redundancy purposes?