Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Multiple Servers Same Nameserver?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by jthomas, May 10, 2007.

1. jthomas

jthomas Active Member

Hello

I am quite new to cpanel, but I was wondering if there was any way possible to set up my 3 servers to use the same nameservers and if so what would be the best way to set it up. Right now the way I set it up is that each server has its own domain name so that the nameservers will work properly. I would like to have it so that all 3 servers use NS1.mymaindomain.com and NS2.mymaindomain.com. I look forward to any of your help.

thank You,

Jeff

2. AlexV.

AlexV. Well-Known Member

jthomas:

Yes you can use the same nameservers.

On the same note, we offer DNS Cluster.

In addition of having a DNS Only version of cPanel which doesn't require licensing;
    http://layer1.cpanel.net/

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AlexV.

AlexV. Well-Known Member

jthomas:

Did you intend to add the DNS zones manually on the primary nameserver, or what kind of implementation were you seeking.

I think the DNS Cluster could be potentially what you need, as it uses synchronization of dns zones when you create accounts or dns entries.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jthomas

jthomas Active Member

I really just wanted to set it up so that i have the same nameservers for all of my accounts across 2 or 3 servers.

For exampls, the nameservers that I want to use right now are set up on the first server and I also have the domain of those nameservers hosted on the server.

How should I set up this clustering so that an account that is on server 2 uses the nameservers that are on server 1.