The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

multiple servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bbennett, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. bbennett

    bbennett Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greetings,

    Does cPanel support multiple servers or does everything run on one box? I can’t seem to find any info on how to add servers or delegate services to different servers.

    A push in the right direction would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
  2. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    Everything is on the same server.

    The only services you can (relatively) easily move to separate servers are DNS and MySQL. The MySQL cluster support is quite limited, you’ll find it difficult to use the same server for more than one cPanel server.

    If you want to do this for other services (e-mail being the main one I would like moved off into a clustering format) you'll need to do some considerable hacking and bodging to achieve it.

    In my opinion it's what cPanel severely lacks, the ability to be scalable.
     
    #2 JamesSmith, Oct 16, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2006
  3. bbennett

    bbennett Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi James,

    Thanks for the information. I’ve been trying to find this info all morning. I’m really surprised to learn that cPanel doesn’t support multiple servers. It has taken me by surprise given the popularity of cPanel hosting.

    Thanks again,
    Brian
     
  4. deathvult

    deathvult Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    I agree with James, this is something I actually thought cPanel would be easily adpated.
    I hope this issue does get adressed soon, would be a major improvement for my buisness.

    Cheerz
     
  5. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in theory it is possible to hack this support in, you just end up with multiple cpanel servers one for web/db and others for e-mail, it would take some skin work, and probably some custom code hooking into the cpanel API,

    on the webserver linking /etc/localdomains to /etc/remotedomains would solve the issue of e-mail being delivered locally onto the webserver....

    basically a few links and a few bodges here and there and you could end up with a clustered cpanel mail solution in under a day, it won't scale though to an enterprise level


    cpanel is popular because its easy to use, but it isn't the control panel to use if you want to scale.
     
  6. deathvult

    deathvult Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    I understand MichaelShanks.

    Have you seen TheGridLayer? They are using cPanel, and in LT forums I have read some positives posts about a scalable cPanel. I really look foward to seeing this.
    After all, other sistems ALREADY have this working rather fine (or so I am told), and as we all know, scalability is very important in planing , growing and maintaining a good hosting.
    Client satisfaction is important for me, and this step in cPanel would be very important for all of us that use cPanel, specially on the long run.
    The main problem is, many of us ALREADY have this need today.
    So we all turn our eyes to cPanel annoucments, and forum.:rolleyes:

    I just hope improvements and solutions are implemented soon.

    Cheerz
     
Loading...

Share This Page