The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Munin Resource Usage?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Scott Forward, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. Scott Forward

    Scott Forward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mistassini Post, Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi there, I'm getting a lot of admin emails concerning the following process. Anyone have any ideas that could help?


    Time: Fri Aug 8 14:45:11 2014 +0000
    Account: munin
    Resource: Virtual Memory Size
    Exceeded: 201 > 200 (MB)
    Executable: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/bin/perl
    Command Line: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/bin/perl /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/share/munin/munin-graph --cron
    PID: 29086 (Parent PID:29071)
    Killed: No

    Thanks
     
  2. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    yeah munin does use alot of resources, i actually turned mine off, but that is a personal choice.

    that message is coming from the CFS, your using config server firewall right.. well down near the bottom of the config prob about 3/4 the way down is the settting for that. Just look for 200 and increase it..

    and dont forget to restart your CFS..
     
  3. Scott Forward

    Scott Forward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mistassini Post, Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi Duran, thanks for taking the time to respond. I'll be increasing the limit, but do you feel Munin is the type of plugin that could be running from time to time. For instance, I could turn Munin off and do weekly scans with it or something like that? I'm just trying to get a feel for the best way to run the service, as I do like the added monitoring that it gives.

    Thanks
     
  4. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, you can call me dave ;) that name is short for durango dave ...

    I dont see a problem with running it once in a while, but there might be some stats that are accumulated that you may not get if you do that. I honestly dont know enough about it tech wize to know for sure. All you can do is give it a shot and see if it gives you the information that you need doing it that way.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest leaving it enabled as it is unless you are experiencing issues with lack of memory on your system. It's okay for applications to utilize the available memory on a system, and unless you are experiencing slowness or a lack of available memory for other applications, it's typically not going to be an issue.

    Thank you.
     
  6. kdean

    kdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to experiment with disabling some of the Munin plugins you don't care about to reduce it's processing time.

    For example disabling the mysql_innodb plugin makes a noticeable difference. I also have the yum plugin disabled.

    You can move the links found in /etc/munin/plugins outside of that folder. I basically created a /etc/munin/plugins_removed folder to put them in.

    Then just run the following to restart Munin.

    service munin-node restart

    You can also run the following to list the which plugins/features are on or off.

    munin-node-configure

    Note that if Munin is updated by cPanel, it will re-activate the plugins, but they don't update very often, but it would be great if they did since there's a large update to munin that's been out for a while.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Here's the Munin Upgrade Feature Request to Vote on.

    Update to Munin 2.x. | cPanel Feature Requests
     
  7. chrisnagios

    chrisnagios Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I have also disabled munin as it was a huge resource killer on my boxes...

    is there any way we control for what it runs and make it work without using mysql ???

    I had literally hundreds of queries in information schema for like every second !!!!!!
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may find the previous post from user kdean about disabling specific Munin plugins to be helpful.

    Thank you.
     
  9. chrisnagios

    chrisnagios Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    so, it can work without using mysql ???

    I dont mean not to monitor mysql, but not to write and generally execute queries on mysql ...
     
  10. kdean

    kdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mine doesn't use any mysql at all as far as I can see. I have a munin_innodb database but it's empty.. maybe because I have that munin plugin disabled. My Munin updates average only 5 seconds to process, but that will vary depending on your server specs.
     
  11. chrisnagios

    chrisnagios Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    try using mtop and see how many queries it runs on information_schema

    mine was hammering information schema with dozens of queries per second,
    all server performance was abused by munin, until I uninstalled and all go
    5 times faster !!!


    its really VERY strange why cPanel does not upgrade this tool to version 2.x
    and we still have 3 yrs old crappy version...

    v2 also allow asyncronous mode, which seems to resolve this issue


    anyway, I 've totally disabled this and now run a standalone VPS for
    servers monitoring, ZABBIX, is free and much better !
     
  12. kdean

    kdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My munin is not doing dozens of mysql connections per second. I don't even seen anything significant when munin updates every 5 minutes. Again this may be due to disabling the mysql_innodb plugin for munin. I know it makes a dramatic difference in the 5 minute update time and perhaps is the resullt of your transaction traffic.
     
Loading...

Share This Page