Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Munin server monitor?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by techark, May 31, 2006.

  1. mbrando

    mbrando Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi,

    Have you rebooted your server in the last month? My graphs all work fine until the server is rebooted.

    Mike
     
  2. skyhorse

    skyhorse Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  3. Shinichi Kato

    Shinichi Kato Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Saitama-ken,japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    installed munin after error "for writing: Permission denied"

    Why? what's error?

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-S48
    CentOS 4.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. vissa

    vissa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    munin - not found after install

    For users having the following problem after installing munin
    -----
    Not Found
    The server was not able to find the document (./munin/index.html) you requested
    Please check the url and try again. You might also want to report
    this error to your webhost.
    -----

    Please vote for the following bug report
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=4723

    Please note I attempted the rrd reinstall as others mentioned and it did not work.

    -vissa
     
  5. vissa

    vissa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    FYI I went into /usr/local/cpanel/modules-install/munin-Linux-i686
    and ran ./install

    Now munin shows up, though I haven't received any data in the graphs yet (will update if/when I do). The addon install script is definitely not working properly with the latest cpanel since it didn't' even try installing it. It looks like it just downloaded it.

    -vissa


     
  6. ncrossland

    ncrossland Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks -- I had the same problem -- this fixed it.

    I think the cPanel installer for Munin should check that Perl is up to date before proceeding with the installation. It obviously doesn't work with older versions!
     
  7. mbrando

    mbrando Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I agree. It could throw an error to let you know that some prerequisits are not installed to the versions needed.

    Mike
     
  8. mgorovoy

    mgorovoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    NYC
    It is in...

    Look for the Munin Service Monitor item in Add-ons section of WHM menu. It will be at the very bottom. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Shinichi Kato

    Shinichi Kato Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Saitama-ken,japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's solved by self.
    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. scara

    scara Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,
    Now that bug has been marked as WORKSFORME.
    I found, for my server, that the issue was related to an uncorrect RRDtool Perl setup 'cause each of the Munin scripts (read them into the cron entry: /usr/bin/munin-cron) was reporting
    Code:
    Can't locate loadable object for module RRDs in @INC (@INC contains: ...
    So after trying the /scripts/rrdtoolinstall, I fixed my server making 2 symbolic links to give the right visibility to these files below:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/lib/perl/auto/RRDs/RRDs.so
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/lib/perl/RRDs.pm
    and now Munin works ;) !

    Regards,
    Matteo
     
  11. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    it works great for me even after the reboot but I would really like the option to decide which services to monitor. It runs a high load level and disabling the things I don't need would really help!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. BG06

    BG06 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Munin would be pretty useful monitoring the loads if it wasn't the script causing the most of it. It is really a pain in the ass.

    Especially if you only have VPS (1Ghz, 1GB-RAM) I wouldn't recommend using it.
     
  13. stphosting

    stphosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    you cand find it until below in addons in fantastico addon


    regards
     
  14. scara

    scara Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,
    you're right but to tell the truth the issue is not strictly related to Munin but to the way *any* monitoring system performs data extraction: i.e. Munin runs a cron every 5 minutes and for some of the monitored services it performs grep searches even in big (100MB+) log files (if you are using a poor written plugin it could open a log file each time from start instead of from the last position where the previous run has stopped!): unfortunately there are many others crons running at the same time in a CPanel server, that's another reason why the load get high every 5 minutes.
    So basically the decision of turning on Munin is a trade off between:
    1. the need of monitoring services;
    2. the need of monitoring services that do not offer any "view my status" feature so you're in need to parse their log files;
    3. the extra load added just for few seconds (3-5s for a real server) each five minutes.

    Regards,
    Matteo
     
  15. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I just would like to see a local mps graph, so I can have something to check against mrtg. That's about the only reason I use munin
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. WhatsYourDomain

    WhatsYourDomain Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Even on my servers that just have a celeron I haven't seen the load jump because of munin.

    A few things that can help:
    1. Edit your logging conf's so that your logs don't get too big.
    2. Remove unneeded plug ins.
    3. Check the munin error logs to see if anything is timing out.
     
  17. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Where is the munin config file?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. scara

    scara Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,
    • /etc/munin/plugin-conf.d/cpanel.conf is the file in which each plugin could be configured;
    • /etc/munin/plugins is the folder that contains the plugins running on the server, each of them as a symlink to the (real) files in the folder /usr/share/munin/plugins.
    Whenever you add or remove a plugin you need to:
    1. configure it, if any configuration is needed;
    2. restart the munin-node service.

    Ciao,
    Matteo
     
  19. IberHosting

    IberHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hello,

    Im not sure if anybody posted it, but I have it available installed from WHM and show outside of WHM; http://www.iberhosting.net/servidores/munin/

    It is available inside the WHM, and also outside of the WHM in that URL.


    Thanks,

    Antonio
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Southern California
    no data for graphs

    I haven't had any data on my graphs for about 10 hours. Also, the time stamp on the graphs varies from Jul of this year to august.

    this is rather funny. I uninstalled this about then becuase of the server loads. I re-installed to help analyze some things on my server(s), and no data on my initial server install.

    bummer.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice