The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mutiple domains - same site (account)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sportbikes, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. sportbikes

    sportbikes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I would like to know how to properly handle this issue:

    I have mutliple domain names that I want to access the same account with after mergering serveral sites.
    - Previously I would adjust a directive in the httpd.conf file which contains the ServerAlias to include all the appropriate domain names.

    How would I accomplish this through my WHM/CPanel?

    Thanks

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    With cpanel, these are called "parked" domains. You can add them through whm or cpanel.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #2 casey, Oct 9, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2003
  3. simplex

    simplex Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do you use WHM to ADDON a domain to an already existing domain account?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Sorry. I got my terms wrong. It's "park" not addon. I'm going to fix that in my original post.

    In WHM it's under DNS Functions. You can't do addons from WHM. I wish you could, though...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    you can use the park domain option to park domain on top of another subdomain - effectively making an addon domain, correct ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Yes, Jemshi, that is effectively what happens when you create an add-on domain -- a sub-domain is created and the add-on domain is parked on it.

    I agree with Casey that is would be nice to do create add-on domains (and sub-domains) via WHM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #6 Stefaans, Oct 9, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2003
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I just added a feature request.;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 25892
     
  8. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cool :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. sportbikes

    sportbikes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Thanks:D .

    Would you be able to use any of the domains names to access a file, even in subdirectories?
    For example:
    www.original-domain.com/target/index.html
    www.parked-domain.com/target/index.html

    I would try it, but I have limited time over the next week and trying to absorb all the info I can before I move to the CPanel server.

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page