The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MX Record Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tbtucholka, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. tbtucholka

    tbtucholka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buffalo
    When edititing MX records is it ok to use an IP address for MX record, or MUST it be a hostname?

    I have a client who wants to host their site on my cpanel server, but host their mail with another provider.
     
  2. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope, sure isn't. It's "illegal" per the RFC. Don't even bother to try it, because it simply won't work.

    If the client is using cPanel, you can use WHM to edit their MX record for their zone (Edit a DNS Zone feature). After you've edited the zone, make sure you remove the domain from /etc/localdomains and place it into /etc/remotedomains

    When editing the zone, don't forget to increment the serial, and don't forget your periods. It's a pretty simple task overall, not much to it. If you need more info, just let us know.
     
  3. tbtucholka

    tbtucholka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buffalo
    I edited the MX record to point to the IP of the other provider, however any mail sent from users on MY server to that domain the email never gets to the domain...

    In WHM if I run the mail troubleshooter to one of the valid addresses, it has a mail route failure...
     
  4. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I guess my reply was a little ambiguous. You can't set the MX record as an IP address. Make it a hostname.
     
  5. tbtucholka

    tbtucholka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buffalo
    whups my bad..

    I created an A record for mail.thedomain.com and pointed it to the new mail server

    then edited the MX record, and put in mail.thedomain.com

    then removed thedomain.com from /etc/localdomains and added mail.thedomain.com to /etc/remotedomains

    restarted exim and all seems to be working ok now...


    Thanks for your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page