The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MX Record Updates

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Damon Anguiano, Jun 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Damon Anguiano

Damon Anguiano Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am an email administrator for a company and have many email clients attached to CPanel, Mostly Outlook. Recently we were switched to a new email server by the provider. In the process, the MX records for our 3rd Party Spam filter became invalid. To fix the validity in the Spam Filter, i needed to update the MX Record in CPanel.

In doing so, the Email Filter read the Updated MX Record As Valid, however, as expected the email stopped working. My Question is, If i update the MX record in Cpanel will i have to change the server settings on everyones mail clients?
    OR, can i add a new MX record a long side the current MX record (changing Priority, of course) and expect the new MX record to propagate properly?

2. sparek-3

sparek-3 Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    MX records tell the rest of the Internet where to send mail for a specific domain name.

Is the hostname that the domain's MX records are pointing to accepting mail for that domain name?

3. Damon Anguiano

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    If i understood your question correctly, yes.

Our old mail server was not CPanel, but something else. I started working here at the time of sever switchover. The old MX record was mail.domain.com, which is now invalid. It is also the Incoming/Outgoing Server in our companies mail clients.

The Filter wont except the previous MX anymore, so it needed updated to the Filters recommended MX setting to validate, which was successful (domain.com.inbound10.mxlogic.net) upon changing in CPanel.