The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my cpanel doesn't have the hotlink option

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ladyshine, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. ladyshine

    ladyshine Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Smokey Mountains
    What do I need to do to get this feature? Thanks!

    ladyshine
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Sounds like your hosting provider disabled it, or removed it from the cpanel theme. You will need to ask them about it to see if they will put it back or enable it.
     
  3. ladyshine

    ladyshine Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Smokey Mountains
    Thanks, Mike. I'll do that!

    ladyshine
     
  4. ladyshine

    ladyshine Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Smokey Mountains
    Well that was quick and easy -- ipowerweb says:

    Step 1:
    Note: NOT COMPATIBLE WITH FRONTPAGE WEBSITES. Disabling Hotlinking will prevent others from linking to your files. Log into vDeck and click Settings.
    Step 2:
    Click on Hot Linking.

    Step 3:
    Click the link that reads (click here) to disable hotlinking.

    Step 4:
    Hotlinking will be scheduled to be disabled within 24 hours.



    For a screenshot walkthrough of these settings, please visit www.ipwhelp.com, click vDeck, then choose Settings, click Hotlinking, and click Disabling HotLinking.


    I used FrontPage for my web pages. That bites! Anyone have any work-arounds?

    Thanks!

    ladyshine
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I didn't think hotlinking would disable frontpage, but I can't be certain since I don't use either myself.

    Hotlinking does have options though and should be possible to use the 2 together.
     
  6. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It looks like your host runs Plesk. You should look for support on a Plesk support site. cPanel is not compatible with Plesk.
     
  7. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    ipowerweb is wrong. This may be the case if you use a script to add hotlink protection which wipes out the FP part of .htaccess, but if you add the code manually, FP and leech protection work fine. I've done it many times for clients. And I think CPanel fixed their hotlink script to not wipe out FP a while ago. Too bad about Plesk. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page