The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my CPU utilization is very high, and i am the only user

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xbaha, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. xbaha

    xbaha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    server load goes above 1
    at one point i saw a number like 80 server load!
    server become very slow, i am the only one who use it!

    what is wrong???

    Code:
    Apache server status for 
    
    Server Version: Apache/2.4.10 (Unix) OpenSSL/1.0.1e-fips mod_bwlimited/1.4
    Server MPM: prefork
    Server Built: Sep 23 2014 17:04:35
    Current Time: Friday, 17-Oct-2014 16:29:30 MST
    Restart Time: Friday, 17-Oct-2014 16:26:16 MST
    Parent Server Config. Generation: 3
    Parent Server MPM Generation: 2
    Server uptime: 3 minutes 14 seconds
    Server load: 1.60 1.37 1.08
    Total accesses: 188 - Total Traffic: 9.5 MB
    CPU Usage: u.17 s1.12 cu132.62 cs11.07 - 74.7% CPU load
    .969 requests/sec - 50.0 kB/second - 51.6 kB/request
    7 requests currently being processed, 7 idle workers
    
    
    top command:
    
    top - 16:32:37 up 36 min,  1 user,  load average: 1.45, 1.33, 1.11
    Tasks: 104 total,   2 running, 102 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 85.1%us,  7.6%sy,  0.0%ni,  4.6%id,  1.3%wa,  0.3%hi,  0.3%si,  0.7%st
    Mem:   1020388k total,   764388k used,   256000k free,    55096k buffers
    Swap:  4194296k total,     6800k used,  4187496k free,   355388k cached
    
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
     6832 hqcartco  20   0  255m  53m  29m R 18.3  5.4   0:00.55 php
     1553 mysql     20   0 1020m 170m 5884 S  1.0 17.1   0:15.68 mysqld
     6056 nobody    20   0 68680 3776 2108 S  0.7  0.4   0:00.14 httpd
        1 root      20   0 19232 1276 1088 S  0.0  0.1   0:00.31 init
        2 root      20   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd
        3 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/0
     
  2. xbaha

    xbaha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    anyone??
    i ran a small test to load my server from 24xsite monitor for 1 minute only!
    this is what i got!!!'
     

    Attached Files:

  3. smoge

    smoge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What is your iowait when you ran these tests?
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    looks like you using all of your available RAM and you swap is a 100%
     
  5. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    TOP tells you that your CPU usage can be the cause i think:
    "Cpu(s): 85.1%us, 7.6%sy,"

    Try to go into WHM / Server Status / Apache Status
    and see the processes... any suspicious? one IP many times?

    Also check WHM / System health / Process manager

    if nothing strange,

    try "ps auxf"

    try "top -c"

    then try: "iotop -a" . If dont have iotop, install it. It will tell you which processes using the HDD.

    also check your log files in /var/log (tail logfilename -n50)

    ---
    Have doubts? try to keep calm and type proper phrasses/questions into google
     
  6. xbaha

    xbaha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i found the solution,
    it was Xcache mod i installed.
    i removed it, installed APC, and everything went fine now...

    thanks all...
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page