The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My I/O usage always hitting the limit (256KB/s). What should I do?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by googol8080, Sep 28, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have a problem with my I/O, it always hits the limit of 256KB/s. What should I do to reduce it? What is the Step-by-Step do I need to fixed this? Other of my resources are not like this. This is my current major problem. So I really appreciate any help from you guys. Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    The problem is I do not have an authorization about, using that kind of codes, I am using a shared hosting package.

    On the cron job part, all I need is to copy and paste that code to a cron job?
     
    #3 googol8080, Oct 6, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2016
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That won't work without root access to the system. I recommend reaching out to your web hosting provider to see if they can determine which aspect of your account is using disk I/O, as it's difficult to troubleshoot that issue without root access.

    Thank you.
     
  5. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I asked them before, and they said that they can't give the information because I am not the only one who is using their server (it's shared hosting).
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You won't be able to obtain root access, but you could ask for more information about what's utilizing the resources for your account.

    Thank you.
     
  7. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Okay, I will ask them today again. Thank you. I will reply to your message again once I cleared it from them.
     
  8. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner

    This is of the things they said, when I asked them what is causing my I/O to reach it's limit.

    "We can't find any exact scripts consuming the I/O it is every single process in every user request on your website."
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Check to see if any of the scripts installed on your website use custom plugins that could lead to increased resource usage. Beyond that, you may want to try out another hosting provider to verify if the issue is isolated to that shared server.

    Thank you.
     
  10. James Moreland

    James Moreland Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sounds like your site just needs more resources - 256kb/s is a pitiful limit and I'm not surprised that any site these days would constantly be hitting that limit.
     
  11. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    They tried to calibrate for 24 hrs the I/O to 512K/Bs and it's hitting the limit again, the regular visits I gather, in average is 100/day, and query is getting what only need, If I use the memcached extension, can this be solve?
     
    #11 googol8080, Oct 13, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  12. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I do not have any scripts installed because I made it from scratch, If I use memcached do you think it will make a change?
     
    #12 googol8080, Oct 13, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You won't be able to install memcached if you do not have root access to the system. You may want to consult with another provider that does not impose disk I/O limitations.

    Thank you.
     
  14. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    They installed it awhile ago, should I use it?
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could check with your provider to see how it's been configured, and if it's possible to modify the configuration for the purpose of optimizing your resource usage. There's no feature to modify the configuration on a per-account basis.

    Thank you.
     
  16. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What questions should I ask?
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should let them know you are having trouble preventing your website from reaching the disk I/O limit assigned to the account, and that you are interested to know if the global Memcached configuration is adjustable to help solve the problem. You may also want to consider switching to a provider without I/O limits.

    Thank you.
     
  18. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thank you, I will reply to this thread once I received their answer.
     
  19. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    They said it's okay and they also said that I am the only one using Memcached on the server I rented in.
     
  20. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To clarify, those are not settings you can change without root access to the system. Your hosting provider would have to make any changes to the Memcached configuration settings.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page